We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kaikoura
from $107.64
More Info
from $98.77
More Info
from $236.38
More Info
from $121.57
More Info
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveler rating
288
20
5
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
288
20
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching sperm whales non profit ground crew big school flying experience great flight boat tour new zealand amazing experience huge pod of dolphins cancelled due these guys murray plane pilot scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We made a wonderful flight to watch whales, we saw the big blue whale, two spermwhales, a orca with calf and some dolfins. Our captain informed is very good and was very friendly and enthousiastic too! We booked a half our but we stayed away almost 1 hour!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 114leenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura A, Manager at Air Kaikoura Aero Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your flight with us. We are so lucky in Kaikoura to have such a variety of different marine life, and we are glad we got to share so much of it with you.
Kind Regards,
The Team At Air Kaikoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Its a while ago since I’ve been there but I still think about the amazing experience I was able to make with Aero Club in Kaikoura. Not only the fact that we managed to see a beautiful spermwhale but also the kind and well informed stuff made our visit one of its kind. The flight was stunning as well obviously. Kaikoura is a beautiful place to go and combining it with seeing whales is just perfect. I would always come back.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 600hannag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura A, Manager at Air Kaikoura Aero Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to fly with us, we are glad you enjoyed your trip!
Kind Regards,
The Team at Air Kaikoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

I cannot recommend Kaikoura Aero Club enough! The owners of Albatross hostel recommended whale watching via plane over the boat tour and I'm SO glad I decided to follow their recommendation. On our 30 minute tour, we saw a family of five orcas, a sperm whale, a blue whale, and the tails of a couple of humpbacks. Plus, the pilot, Austin, was very knowledgable and also incredibly hot. 10/10 would do again.

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank MegS8027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura A, Manager at Air Kaikoura Aero Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Meg,
Happy you enjoyed your flight with us - exciting for us to see so many species of marine life all in one flight, too! We are glad you enjoyed the view of the whales…and of our pilot...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Excellent experience. The staff were knowledgeable and provided a great service. I have no hesitation in recommend this trip.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Brackley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura A, Manager at Air Kaikoura Aero Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There,
Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your trip out to see the Whales with us!
Kind Regards,
The Team at Air Kaikoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

All aspects excellent from the contact phone call to the certificates at the end (:
An excellent instructor who ensured that an 80+ year old (passenger) grandfather and a young teen age boy and girl (of different sizes and temperements) had an experience that was the highlight of the Christmas holidays (:
Thank you

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Ray3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura A, Manager at Air Kaikoura Aero Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi There,
Thank you very much for flying with us! We are glad you all enjoyed your Pilot-A Plane experience, and we hope you enjoy the rest of the Holidays,
Kind Regards,
The Team at Air Kaikoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews