We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Fresh Food”
Review of Koura Bay Lodge

Koura Bay Lodge
Ranked #22 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Koura Bay Lodge is just 5 km North of Kaikoura, and set between the Beautiful Kaikoura ranges and the Ocean on a 9 Hole Golf Course. Our Restaurant is open for Lunch and Dinner 7 days a week (only on booking), serving Kaikoura's local Cuisine. Bar open anytime Lodge is attended for Food, Coffee & Drinks. Great for Functions including Weddings!!
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Fresh Food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been to Koura Bay Lodge twice for dinner and love the food there. Viv selects the freshest seafood and produce available and then designs his menu around it. This results in stunning dishes that keep you wanting to come back for more. The location is spectacular, looking over Kaikoura and down to the Peninsula. It is definitely a place not to be missed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SkinnerStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    8
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Wow! what a magic place. just spent the most relaxing weekend away ever! Beautiful place and accommodation was top notch. Loved the warm sheets! Food was faultless and de-lish! hosts Shannon and Viv are amazing and simply doing a brilliant job. We absolutely loved our stay and we'll be back for sure! Ps golf course on the doorstep was challenging and fun!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay and play at Koura Bay Lodge”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just had 2 great nights and days at Koura Lodge. Fantstic hosts. Viv and Shannon made you feel welcome and made sure we had everything we needed. Food was fantastic. Thanks Viv.
A good chance to try the golf course after hearing about it from friends. Would recommend as worth the stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

timginger's earlier review really does say it all. Koura Bay Lodge, nestled under snow-capped peaks just outside of Kaikoura, is fabulous, on just so many levels ... whether it is for a game of golf, followed by lunch or dinner, or better still, to spend a couple of nights there as we did.
After a long drive from Dunedin, we were welcomed warmly by the Lodge's manager, Shannon and shown to one of the two guest rooms. Our room with its ensuite was fresh, warm, well furnished, extremely comfortable and looked across the gorgeous greens of a new 9-hole golf course.
We opted to dine in, which was our second clever decision (the first being to book a two night stay!) Chef Viv, changes the menu daily, influenced by what he can put his hands on and what is in season. My seafood linguine and my husband's main course of blue cod were just fabulous ... and the apple pie was to die for. There was no question where we would dine the second night! (Breakfast, by the way, was scrumptious too!)
The people of Kaikoura are very lucky to have such a quality restaurant and function venue on their doorstep.
Viv and Shannon are a great team and deserve the accolades on this site.
Do yourself a favour when driving through Kaikoura and turn into Bay Paddock Road, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenransom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Recent Stay at Koura Bay Lodge”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at Koura Bay Lodge. The people there were amazingly nice and did everything they could to make our stay there the best. The food was incredible. Would recommend the restaurant to everybody - so those of you who live Kaikoura -Go there and experience this world class restaurant on your very doorstep complete with wonderful views and reasonable prices... what more can you ask?

The rooms were lovely with views of the bay and Kaikoura, which looked great at night all lit up. And the facilities were all you could expect and then some. We had a great time and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koura Bay Lodge also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Koura Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing