We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want a great coffee”
Review of The Reserve Hutt

The Reserve Hutt
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Want a great coffee”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love a good coffee, and as I drink it black the roast is important. At the Reserve Hutt they roast their own coffee, and it shows. Mine was really good. Although it was a good coffee I was after, they also make an excellent salad, just right for a lunch. My granddaughter enjoyed her wedges almost as much as I did my food. Well done - the service seems a little slow, but if that means the food is cooked at the time, it is surely worth the wait. You can expect good food and coffee here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwenifer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing chowder!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Sitting in the sun, on a cold autumn day, what could be better than an amazing local seafood chowder.

The service was friendly and helpful , and the food was delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really disappointed - normally love the coffee here...”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We visited after the farmer's market on Sunday - great location just over the road. This is a funky little place and we have been here before and the coffee is usually awesome but this weekend was really disappointing; bitter and not drinkable-didn't finish mine. Also the Afghans we ordered which looked great in the cabinet were burnt round the edges. Such a shame must have picked the wrong day....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theworldwithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great? ”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Went here because tripadvisor told us to, maybe it was the wrong day. Easy quick cook menu, nothing took our fancy so didn't eat. Had flat whites which were pale but told they were double shots and more coffee in the saucers than cups. Fun little place tho nice vibe

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, coffee and service”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast here, fantastic coffee, perfectly cooked poached eggs and excellent service. Would definately return. Right across the road from the farmers market on a Sunday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hotwxsearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reserve Hutt also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Reserve Hutt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing