We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we'd had the same experience as others”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyell Creek Lodge

Lyell Creek Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lyell Creek Lodge
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we'd had the same experience as others”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This place is horrendous, bedding was dirty and creased and the bathroom smelled of mould as a result of a dirty shower curtain. However, the worst part was the kitchen. I had to wash cups and spoons taken out of the cupboard before I could use them and the only tea cloth that was available was absolutely disgustingly dirty. The fridge and freezer were also in a disgusting state. I wouldn't have wanted to cook anything there.
We were asked for cash on arrival 'because their card machine was down'. Being a trusting soul I handed over the money. It was only later that realised that BBH, the booking agent I used, had already taken a credit card payment. I called back later in the week to get my money back but I am still waiting for this as apparently they don't keep cash on the premises.
I certainly would not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennieO190755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyKK, Owner at Lyell Creek Lodge, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
We are terribly sorry that you had a bad experience. We have had two younger managers in over the Summer and due to this response we have let them go. I am currently spring cleaning the lodge and getting it back up to its "normal" standard. You will be happy to know that I spoke with Eric from BBH and we are refunding your double payment in full. Again, we apologise for any problems this has caused you and we will do everything we can to prevent it happening again. If there is ANYTHING I can do to help, please email me at jonny_willis@xtra.co.nz. I would be more than happy to let you or your friends stay again for 1 or 2 nights for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Newly renovated place, very clean and so comfortable. Set out like a house this small hostel hasn't got many rooms, when we stayed we were the only ones upstairs and so pretty much had our own floor and bathroom! Really would have loved to stay longer if the schedule had permitted, this place was just so comfy and relaxed. Very quiet though so wouldnt recommenx to single traveller unless they wanted to be alone...

We were a couple travelling with a car so it suited us just fine. Not the best location if you don't have a car.

Staff are friendly but didn't see much of them, we didnt really need anything though so that wasn't an issue for us!

VERY COMFY BEDS!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berrydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziqim, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The lodge is very nice, clean, and comfortable. We arrived later than we thought (around 9:30 pm), and the staff made a special effort to come and show us around. Thanks!

The most important thing about it is the distance from Kaikoura center. It is quiet, far from the tourist center fuss, but you definitely need a car to get there and away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamMatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We didn't want to stay at the busy city center, so we choose Lyell Creek lodge. This was a well maintained, clean and cosy accomodation. It has 2 kitchens (one small downstairs, and one bigger with a lounge upstairs), both were very well equipped. The owner Aaron was very friendly and welcoming, however the 2-3 girls (cleaning the rooms, etc.) were a bit rude.

We were unfortunate, because we got the room next to the main door and as a big french group stayed there at that time, our sleep was ruined by the continous door slamming, and loud voices all night long. The house itself stays next to a main road heading north, so the traffic is relatively heavy which may disturb your sleeping as well.

Off street parking available.

Well worth money anyway, we'd chose Lyell Creek Lodge again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Lyell Creek Lodge in Kaikoura is my all-time favourite hostel in all of New Zealand. Even though it's a bit of a walk from the town of Kaikoura itself (15 mins), but for me, it's the best one I've stayed in and I've stayed there 3 times now. The guy that runs the hostel, Aaron, has always been very helpful, it's very clean, has two kitchen areas,(upstairs and downstairs), a log fire for the cold nights and a lovely garden area at the back of the hostel, by a little stream. I love the feel of the place - it's cosy, warm and just has a very homely feel to it. Even though the hostels in town are more central, they can be noisy but Lyell Creek is lovely and quiet. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Even though it's about 15 mins walk from town, it has the benefit of being in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2012

so impressed this the place so nice out the back with the bbq and the river feeding the eels and trout the inside is awesome and nice and clean got on well with the stuff thanks for that aaron will be back up sometime
from
Shane and Dayna

Room Tip: room 8 has a really nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good place to stay - the owner and the host were both welcoming.
The kitchen could be better equipped, but they do have a suggestion box, so are open to improving.
A fair walk out of town, but right next to a great fish and chip shop which the host recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaduncleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.9 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
93 reviews
3.3 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#13 of 36 in Kaikoura
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyell Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyell Creek Lodge

Property: Lyell Creek Lodge
Address: 193 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Backpackers for the independent & mobile traveler. Small, clean, quiet & homely. Mountain views and a peaceful garden & creek area. Eight private rooms, three with en-suite bathrooms. Two fully equipped kitchens. Log fire in lounge, off-street parking. TV & heaters in all rooms. Wireless & internet access. Guests laundry facilities. Free use of mountain bikes & BBQ cooker. Winter specials / discounts. All linen provided including towels & soap. Complimentary hot drinks. Relax & unwind in beautiful Kaikoura. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing