We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't want to leave!”
Review of Kincaid Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kincaid Lodge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You won't want to leave!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

There is nothing we can possibly add to all the glowing reviews already given, but every word you read is absolutely true. Kincaid Lodge was our special treat at the end of a fortnight touring NZ with our two young daughters. We arrived late and cold on the first night to be greeted with an emergency spread of delicious sandwiches and a roaring fire - well beyond the call of duty at that late hour. The incredible hospitality did not waiver for the three days we stayed, and we were so grateful for Greg's generosity with the logs on the fire, and Jess's fabulous breakfasts to set us up for the day. Staying at beautiful Kincaid with such warm hosts is an experience we will never forget and one we truly hope to repeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodwoodHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had a wonderful experience here, not just a stay. We wanted somewhere comfortable and a bit special for our last three nights in NZ, and were absolutely delighted with Kincaid Lodge and our wonderful hosts, it far exceeded our expectations. We recommend it without reservation, with the suggestion you try and spend at least two nights here to enjoy the experience - you can feel any stress just dropping away.

Firstly the setting; 6km / 15 minutes out of town, with idyllic mountain views, fabulous night sky and you can hear the sea. The extensive gardens (ask Greg about his mower!) are beautifully planted and well kept. Jess uses the flowers to decorate the food, a lovely touch.

Then the accommodation; our large garden room with big bed and sitting area was warm and comfortable with everything we could need - including a magic port bottle that refilled itself and similar cookie jar. Like other guests we could not resist the double corner bath jacuzzi. The private terrace, garden table and chairs were lovely in the autumn sun. You also have use of a large and extremely comfortable lounge with log fire, games, books, TV and interesting local art. Decoration throughout is tranquil and tasteful.

The food was also fabulous, with so much choice at breakfast that (sadly) we could not possibly eat it all, but Jess offered everything from cold meat and cheese, yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit salad, home made bread and croissants, and a full fry up.

Best of all was the welcome and hospitality. From the moment we arrived - well, actually from the moment we rang to say we had been delayed - we could not have felt more welcome and spoiled. Greg recommended and arranged restaurant reservations and offered lifts or sorted the taxi for us. They were pleased to recommend walks, views and suggested places that chimed with our interests. They even dried our washing on their line! We were offered drinks each evening and there were lovely treats of nuts and chocolates left for us at various times. Best of all, both Greg and Jess are really great company. We particularly enjoyed the evening we spent with them over a couple of bottles of wine, they are intelligent and interesting with a great sense of humour and you feel more like good friends. They also judge it very well, we never felt that they were intrusive and since they live in the cottage next door, you get plenty of privacy.

Jess and Greg run a wonderful lodge, and they are exemplar ambassadors for the hospitality industry, for NZ and for Sweden. We fully intend to go to Kincaid Lodge again when we can get back over, and will be actively recommending it to friends and relatives.

Room Tip: I should think all the rooms are good, we had the Garden Room which was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Everyone should visit Kincaid Lodge. Greg and Jessica are wonderful hosts, we felt we had known forever, lovely people and the welcome we received on arrival was huge! Our room was beautiful, looking out onto the garden, very peaceful and restful. Jessica presented us with a truly delicious breakfast, very stylish and flavoursome. We were so sorry we could not stay longer, one night was certainly not enough to appreciate this very fine accomodation. Greg and Jessica deserve success, as through their efforts they have a very fine establishment here. Go and find out for yourselves, you will not be disappointed! ,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSB139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We spent a couple of fantastic days at the Lodge and cannot fault it in any way. The room was lovely, and we really appreciated the extra touches of chocolates, grapes, cashew nuts and sherry provided. The breakfasts were freshly cooked, as requested and just great. Both Greg and Jessica made us feel so welcome and we had some great chats with them, and enjoyed a couple of glasses of wine, after being out for dinner. Faultless, this is a gem of a place and we wish them every success for the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Greg and Jessica were lovely hosts. They made us feel so welcome it is a shame we had to rush off in the morning to a whale-watching trip. I'm sure the breakfast would have been marvellous. However, Jessica kindly made us up a packed breakfast to take with us which was so thoughtful and allowed us to enjoy the whales without hunger pangs. Jessica even got up to see us off.
The location was wonderful, sandwiched between mountains and sea. I'd recommend a walk under the stars. I saw shooting stars and the Aurora Borealis!
Lovely hosts. Lovely location. Such a shame we stayed only one night - I didn't have time to give the port decanter the attention it deserved!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aiminterest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We cannot imagine our New Zealand holiday without the Kincaid Lodge and the lovely Greg and Jessica. After 27 / 27 Excellent Reviews, we can only also lend our highest compliments to this unbelievable lodge. Immediately upon entering [without our bags, as Greg carried them in!], we were blown away by the modern and luxurious lodge that they have built.

Every minute of our stay--- from the delicious breakfasts, cozy fires in the evening, exquisite gardens, and remarkable mountain, sea, and star views truly made this an unmatched accommodation. Perhaps the highlight, however, was getting to know Greg and Jessica and we even skipped an evening meal in the town of Kaikoura just to enjoy their company. We highly recommend staying at least two nights and wish we could have stayed longer! They are a perfect match for this business--- their hospitality, humour, and attention to detail are exceptional.

Anyone planning a trip to New Zealand should certainly put Kincaid Lodge in Kaikoura on their itinerary! When we return to New Zealand, this will definitely be a place to revisit. [Greg and Jessica-- you are always welcome to visit us in Colorado!]

-Chris, Judy & Katie

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong. Every room is immaculate and spacious with gorgeous furnishings. Cookies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Absolutely agree with all the other comments about Kincaid Lodge! It couldn't have been better! The room we stayed in was huge with a view to the front yard and ocean. The room my brother and his wife stayed in looked out to the majestic mountains that are a backdrop for the lodge. The "living room" had a free standing fireplace, a library, DVD movies, and a wonderfully big wooden table where we ate delicious breakfasts. Can eggs get any fresher? Homemade croissants were a hit!
However, the highlight of this stay was the hosts!! Greg and Jessica are delightful, engaging, and we felt immediately connected to them and hated to leave. We talked, we laughed and thoroughly enjoyed them. They have every detail under control and they seem to really enjoy the adventure of running a B&B.
Kaikoura and the Kincaid Lodge were beyond any expectation!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.4 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
Kaikoura Cottage Motels
#2 of 36 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kincaid Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincaid Lodge

Property: Kincaid Lodge
Address: 611 Kincaid Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backed by snow-capped mountains, looking out to the Pacific Ocean, the historic Kincaid homestead has stood for over 100 years. Kincaid has the peace and tranquility of the country, yet is just 5 minutes drive to Kaikoura. The recently refurbished homestead provides 3 luxuriously appointed guest rooms each with their own en-suite and private verandas. Country hospitality is a big feature and the new owners (01-09-08) Jessica and Greg Frost will do their utmost to ensure that you feel right at home. Welcome to Kincaid Lodge! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing