We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Beach House Cafe

Beach House Cafe
Ranked #8 of 60 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A homely old villa with different seating areas, kids play room, private back deck away from road. Lunch on the run or sit and enjoy. Fantastic gluten free menu for tho who need it. Evenings also in summer months and winter by arrangement for groups. Private functions are welcome. Licensed Cafe :)
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stopped in here on the way through Kaikoura on Mothers day.. It was very busy so there was a bit of a wait naturally. But well worth it! The food was fantastic as with the coffee and friendly staff. Will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 708Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 204 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Six of us stopped here for brunch on our way back to Christchurch from Blenheim on Mothers Day. We had booked. We had a table set up for us outside, (bit chilly) so actually ended up moving the tables so we could find some sun. I ordered mushrooms on toast but they were out of mushrooms. Several in our party ordered a breakfast dish containing mushrooms but that too came without mushrooms (and they had not been advised). The wait was quite long but the food was good when it arrived.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraBeachHouse, Owner at Beach House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Hi thanks so much for booking your stop at our cafe. As our place is big it is hard to guess where individuals would like to sit, I enjoy outside as our view is spectacular. I'm very sorry you were not told we had no mushrooms, that is a slip on our part. No excuse but as you saw, we were SOOOO busy as the two other cafes on state highway had shut for Mother's Day, which is already a very busy day for us. We were not happy with the wait on food and coffee ourselves, but did our best. As an owner and manager Im proud to know tho that after waiting our customers get good food and coffee. Please come back again and enjoy our pleasant spot x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Beach House Cafe is situated right on the Main Road through Kaikoura opposite the Top 10 Holiday park. It is a lovely place to go and eat or stop to have a cup of coffee and either sit outside on a lovely day and watch the world go by, or eat outside at the back in quiet seclusion, or inside in one of the many dining rooms/areas. It is child friendly, has a designated room for young mothers to meet with their children, especially fitted out to suit young children and good toilet facilities. The food is great and so is the coffee.

Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Such friendly staff who make you feel welcomed. Great tasty food & the best coffee in town. Fantastic atmosphere & ambience, warm fire for a great experience.

Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraBeachHouse, Manager at Beach House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Excellent coffee and an outstanding breakfast. Creative, well prepared, and beautifully presented. It's a shame that this cafe doesn't have a 'downtown' location, as it is infinitely better than it's competitors down on the strand. Do yourself a favor and order the eggs benedict - unique and delicious.

Thank AxisOfBeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraBeachHouse, Owner at Beach House Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed the eggs benedict as much as we do!!! It's by far our most popular breakfast amongst our regulars. We hope you will come back and enjoy it some other time:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach House Cafe also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Beach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing