We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place Friendly people”
Review of Willowbank Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willowbank Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
ChCh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place Friendly people”
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights over Easter and found the place comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The cost was affordable especially considering it was Easter.

The unit was modern and clean and everything worked. We cooked our own meals as well as eating out and the kitchen though small was sufficient.

It is set back from the road so there was no traffic noise. We slept well. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvisbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    24
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2008

The Motel says its three star, but I would say its around 1-2 star.

While the rooms look like they have been redecorated, its been done very poorly. The bathroom was the worst - the shower had no door and so water went everywhere!

Not recommended!

  • Liked — -
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prettyinpink83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

we arrived here late afternoon after a fairly long drive up from ashburton,we were on route to nelson and decided to stay here overnight,to give both drivers a rest really(we did book it b4 we left the uk)it was a basic unit but ok for what we wanted,we had no complaints about the unit really,there is a really nice place to eat and drink about 250m away.and a very nice supermarket next door to it,if we came back to kaikoura i don't think we would stay here again,it was ok but nothing to call home about really.

  • Liked — it was quiet and we had a lovely view of the mountains just outside the window
  • Disliked — it was too basic for us
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank steelpulse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Having stayed at this motel before (in Feb '06) we knew what to expect: clean, spacious accommodation.

As a party of three adults we opted for the same two-bedroom unit we'd had last time, #8. Cost, NZ $145 per night.

Bedroom 1 had a queen bed, Bedroom 2 had three single beds plus a rollaway.

The living-room was large 'n' lovely. It had three two-seater settees, a dining-table and chairs plus a tv. The large windows afforded great views across the fields and farmland to the Kaikoura Ranges beyond.

Adjacent to our unit was the small Laundry Room. As the previous reviewer stated, an 'Honesty' system is in operation. It costs NZ $2 to use the washing-machine and NZ $2 to use the drier. In the garden area was a washing-line available for guests' use.

A short drive away was the New World supermarket, and beyond that the centre of Kaikoura itself.

We were happy with our 2-night stay at the Willowbank.

SnowFalling

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowFallingOnCedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I live in double room which is nice. The hotel has a family feeling. The hotel has a little garden and a playground. I tried to jump on the trambolin which funs to do so. You may also try a swing.

Facilities are great. They have a laudry machine and a dryer which uses merit system, for those who use must drop coins in a small medicine box in the laudry room.

Owner is not friendly but she is fine to answer your question.

If you want to try seafood, I would recommend the Pipi's restaurant and cafe. The chef has his magic. The foods taste great.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank noiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Motel

Property: Willowbank Motel
Address: 183 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willowbank Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willowbank Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing