We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Willowbank Motel, Kaikoura rooms”
Review of Willowbank Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Willowbank Motel
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Willowbank Motel, Kaikoura rooms”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just come back from a weekend away, weekend was great but sadly the Motel was disgusting. Firstly there was no real welcome from staff. The room was basic, although the linen was clean, to our horror we found mice or rat droppings in the hot water tank, the room was tattty. We spoke to other people staying and they said pretty much the same thing, other people in our party said how their room smelt very musty. Would definitely not recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: None at this motel. Try Kaikoura Cottage Motel on Old Beach Road, went to see some friends there an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    24
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed her on a trip from South Island to North Island, I highly recommend visiting Kaikoura, beautiful scenery, lovely stone beach and the seal colony is worth a visit, the Motel itself is on the main road though town, with restaurants all along the same road and only a few hundred meters away from the town centre, the room was immaculate, there was a small cooker and the cupboards stocked all dishes pots pans and utensils, the room also had a sofa and table and extra cupboard space, there was a large bathroom also clean and modern, the hosts were also friendly and leave you to your own devices, take a stroll to the end of the site, there you will find a swing and seesaw for kids and a stream there are some sheep in a paddock nearby, but take a look up and you will see the beautiful mountains, all in all a very nice motel, has everything you need for your stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Wow,we have just read the other reviews.The motel units were very old but we must say that the bed was okay ,the bed linen was very clean.The shower unit had been refurbished at a recent time and was quite reasonable,however,the whole place needs much TLC.Curtains were old and shabby ,the towels old but clean.Overall very reasonable for one night.We had no noise worries and the young person was quite nice.Great views of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The worst of seventeen motels stayed in. If I give this a rating it would have to be a minus.Unless you're desperate, pass it by! Booked it by telephone as it seemed reasonable in the Jason's catalogue. Booked the day before arrival but was told as it was within 48 hours we would lose our money if we failed to take up the booking, but was told I would benefit from a special offer, NZ$85 instead of NZ$110, as I had had some good deals previous to this I was not suspicious. 
Well at $85 this was the worst value of any, it was dirty and not serviced, they don't make the beds. Not vacuumed all the time we were there. No smoke alarm, frayed, worn and dirty carpet and curtains, well worn and dirty paint, especially the toilet door. Broken windows, oven door would not close plus handle broken, exposed electrics, dodgy heater, disgusting worn and scratched plastic food preparation bowls, kitchen floor dirty and sticky, had an empty fire extinguisher holder. Shower curtain, shampoo/soap dispensers dirty and behind the wash basin tap was a disgusting biological growth. There was a sign saying the spare pillows, ironing board and iron were in the wardrobe, no wardrobe! Instructions on 'phone use', no telephone! Alarm clock/ radio provided but nowhere to plug it in at bedside, very old 'tube type TV'. The clean? (very worn and grey, some frayed) towels were just dumped inside the door on the sofa, the waste and recycling were not taken out as promised, (waste was removed after leaving bag in a prominent position on the second day). Wi-Fi, although free, was poor and had to stand by the window to get a signal, and the unit was almost opposite the office. Cost of laundry on notice in unit incorrect and the laundry itself could have done with being laundered. The crockery cupboard smelt so bad we had to hold our breath when it was opened, then had to rinse any items off before use, cutlery included. Complained to Golden Chain, no response, as yet! Complained to Jason's, no response, as yet! Complained to Qualmark and had a rapid response together with an apology from the Willowbank, which was totally inadequate and failed to meet the complaints raised in an acceptable manner.

One other thing that is no fault of the Motel, they have a weird way of calling out the Emergency Services in Kaikoura by way of a siren (WW2 Air raid type), if this goes off at night, as it did twice in three nights, the whole town must wake up, it is very loud. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

After our recent trip to New Zealands South Island our accomadation was in Kaikoura at the Willowbank Motel the room was very musty smelling after having a shower there , the greeting we got was rude because we arrived early but after a six hour drive all we wanted to to settle into the room but no we had to kill 2 hours before we could get in , we even got told where we could park our car . The fire safety info was hidden on a wall behind a cupboard you couldn't read . I must say after read a number of reviews on the Golden Chain voucher system we wouldn't use them again as we felt we were treated rather poorly .

Room Tip: Would not pre book any rooms again when we are self driving , there was plenty of options to book yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013

What can I say ! but this place is not at all suitable. After viewing the rooms we decided not to stay ( although they still took all our money and would not give us a refund so we lost $465.000) the rooms were disgusting. The smell was something that we would not put up with--- the holes in the carpet, walls, mixed matched second furniture with gouges and lack of cleaniness were dissppointing to say the least. But the smell was something else. I could not let my visiting American relatives stay in these rooms I was so embarrassed that New Zealand/ Kaikoura would accept and have this level of accomodation available. Kaikoura prides itself as a Tourist distination but they really need to address the level of service and the quality of motels that are available to visitors to the region.

Room Tip: My only tip is Don't Stay Here !!!!! ever. There are other quality motels available.;
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was the only place of the 8 we stayed at that we would not stay at again. We would not recommend it to others. Having said that, it did appear clean and we slept well enough on the mattress. Our room was away from the road, so it was quiet, and the shower had a good flow. I would say it's the kind of place a man might be OK with, but most women would probably not be happy with. We feel there are probably better choices in this town and we were stuck here because we made the reservation fairly late in the trip planning process and had less choice. The room furnishings were very shabby and mismatched in both color and style. The bedspread was old, with a hideous pattern. The curtains at the front were ancient, ugly, and thin enough to see through. The back window had no curtain at all, just a basic plain roller blind. There were 3 flying insects in the room and several baby spiders. Lighting was poor and unflattering--there was one ugly old wall lamp above the center of the bed, with no lamp on the single bedside table. All the furniture looked like it was picked up at the side of the road on trash day. The carpet was old and stained. Why does all this matter if the place was clean and I slept good enough? Because when a room is so shabby, old, and poorly decorated, it makes it seem dirty even if it is clean. It just looks depressing and I don't want to feel that way on a once in a lifetime trip to such a fabulous country.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter, also cars must be parallel parked by the curb so make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
0.5 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willowbank Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willowbank Motel

Property: Willowbank Motel
Address: 183 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Willowbank Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Willowbank Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willowbank Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing