We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Factory
Nearby Hotels
Admiral Court Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
$101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$54
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Seas Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$85
$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$128
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$100
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Inn Motel(Kaikoura)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panorama Motel(Kaikoura)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveler rating
170
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaul janethot tubcatfishnew zealandplush bathrobesincredible place to stayliving area and bathroomdelightful hostsb bslice of paradiselocal delicacyopen kitchenunderfloor heatingheated floorsstylish accommodationblack sandacross the road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 171 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had the time of our lives
The sea at our front door where we saw dolphins frolicking
Snow covered alps at the back door
Whale watching just down the road and yes whales were watched basking in the blue waters
Beautiful coastal walks
Exciting helicopter drop offs to do a lazy meander down those alps behind The Factory
Hospitality and friendliness on tap from sunrise to bedtime
A bucket list experience too good not to share
Loved it from the moment I waljed in the door I felt relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much Deb, for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at The Factory.
We really enjoyed having you both here and hearing all about your travels.
Thank goodness the weather behaved and you were able to see whales, seals, dolphins and albatross as well as do all those wonderful walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Factory is the place to be in Kaikoura. My wife and I visited for 3 days on our honeymoon and Paul and Janet were the quintessential host(s) with the most. The multi-course breakfast are indeed delicious (my wife is a recent graduate of culinary school and was extremely impressed with the breakfasts and fresh ingredients). Also, Paul was gracious enough to let borrow his surfboard and then to take my wife and I fishing. We caught fish and several hours later, Paul produced a full platter of perfectly filleted fish that we ate for dinner that night. Also, not to be forgotten are the beautiful gardens and of course a hot tub.

In addition to owning the best B&B in Kaikoura, Janet and Paul are awesome and extremely interesting folks. Near the front door, there is a great picture of Janet helming a 24 foot sailboat at the beginning of a successful trip across the Atlantic from a few years back and Paul has excellent stories and pictures from his long career with the television program, 60 Minutes. We would go back to Kaikoura just to stay at The Factory in a heartbeat.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

What an awesome review! Thank you so much you guys, for taking the time to let people know about your experiences here with us at The Factory.
We had a great time meeting you both too and really look forward to hearing all about your future ventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at The Factory for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon tour of New Zealand. We spent 2 weeks travelling the island and stayed at 7 different hotels/B&Bs, but I must say, The Factory was by far our favourite place! Janet and Paul are the loveliest hosts you could ever meet. We felt right at home in the The Factory. The setting is gorgeous and the decor of the building is amazing. We definitely took home some interior design tips! The breakfast at The Factory had a lot to live up to as we had just arrived from a different B&B who had delicious breakfasts. But of course, Janet & Paul stepped up to (& even surpassed!) the mark! Crayfish for breakfast just cannot be beaten!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Factory and would recommend a visit to anyone. If only it wasn't so far away from home, we would go back every year! Thanks again to the Boocock's. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and we will cherish some very fond memories of your lovely home and our time in Kaikoura. Rachel & Tom.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Oh thank you so much for your kind comments. So glad we helped to make your honeymoon special. I have really loved keeping up with all your Facebook updates - hope summer is on its way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved staying at the factory! The building is an old cheese factory that has been converted into a tasteful and fascinating home with attached self-contained accommodation. Janet and Paul were so friendly and fun to talk to. They were also both brilliant with the children (9-12y) and we all enjoyed some delicious breakfasts in their home. These were home-made and lovingly created; divine smoothies and crayfish omelettes are still lingering on our palates!
We'd recommend 'The Factory' to anyone heading to Kaikoura who would like a special experience. They'll find it with Janet and Paul.

Room Tip: You get the whole place to yourselves and all three rooms were lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellersgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We really enjoyed meeting you all and especially loved spending time with your very clever and wonderfully polite children. We look forward to seeing their latest creations! Hope the weather is improving on your side of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friends and I booked The Factory as our speciality lodging in our NZ trip and this was one of the highlights for our trip. Expectations were high but we were not prepared (at all!) for the wonder of The Factory.

We arrived to Janet's very warm welcome who graciously showed us around her house and our section of the house. She left us to explore the huge property while she prepared a welcome snack and beverage (the best ever lemonade and brownie!). We spoke briefly and among other things, we mentioned that we were looking forward to head out to Nin's Bin the next morning for some crayfish but were worried that we might get there too late. She left afterwards and came back to tell us that Paul will be making us crayfish for breakfast so that we will not have to worry about not getting our crayfish fix! We were ecstatic beyond words! She and her husband, Paul, had to leave for town to meet up with their friends, but she left us her personal number to contact her should we find ourselves in need of any help.

Janet and Paul were extremely inviting, generous, and friendly. Janet took the time to talk to us about Kaikoura town and the attractions. She also gave us a tour of her gardens! Paul introduced his chickens to us and even took the effort to dig up old photos of his adventures on the beach to show us. Be sure to catch their adorable cats wandering around the house too. And thanks to Janet's suggestion- we visited the seal pup stream the following morning and it became one of our favourite (and most unexpected) event of our trip!

The house itself was impressive and it was all so beautiful to look it. The interior is just lovely. Each of the 3 room were amazing and had their own characters. Seeing photos of the Factory before we arrived was one thing, but being in it is another thing altogether. We especially love the pulling light switches and the rolling doors.

The unit comes equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, speakers (that you can dock your iPod to), a collection of books and DVDs, a fire-place, sofa, dinning table and chairs, a fridge, an oven, a huge area to prepare food, and an induction cooker! The outdoor area has chairs, a BBQ facility, and spa!

Toiletries were provided, they smell so lovely that we decided to not use our own and we are glad we made that choice! Thought was put into every detail - down to the tissue provided (those 3-ply cold tissues are god's gift to mankind). The beds and the pillows were so wonderful, we had our best sleep of our trip here! An information booklet and many many brochures were provided, you can check into The Factory not knowing what to do in Kaikoura and these information will keep you very very busy!

Our crayfish breakfast was delightful and Paul's coffee were amazing (you should check out his machines while you are there). They overfed us and we had to zip-lock our lemon cakes for our journey back to Christchurch! If we had more stomach space to spare, we'd be asking for more rounds of coffee!

It was truly our regret that we only had 1 night to spare in Kaikoura. We have never been so blown away. Janet and Paul have left us wanting for more time there!

My apologies for the long wall of text but I am afraid no number of words can amount to the great time we had at The Factory!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Oh my goodness - what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Factory - we really enjoyed meeting you all and I loved showing you around the garden and hearing all about your busy lives. I am so glad you found the baby seals at the waterfall - it is a truly awesome experience.
Hope to see you again another day and thanks again for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews