We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise everyone should experience”
Review of The Factory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Factory
Ranked #2 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had the time of our lives
The sea at our front door where we saw dolphins frolicking
Snow covered alps at the back door
Whale watching just down the road and yes whales were watched basking in the blue waters
Beautiful coastal walks
Exciting helicopter drop offs to do a lazy meander down those alps behind The Factory
Hospitality and friendliness on tap from sunrise to bedtime
A bucket list experience too good not to share
Loved it from the moment I waljed in the door I felt relaxed!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much Deb, for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay at The Factory.
We really enjoyed having you both here and hearing all about your travels.
Thank goodness the weather behaved and you were able to see whales, seals, dolphins and albatross as well as do all those wonderful walks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for The Factory
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 156 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Factory is the place to be in Kaikoura. My wife and I visited for 3 days on our honeymoon and Paul and Janet were the quintessential host(s) with the most. The multi-course breakfast are indeed delicious (my wife is a recent graduate of culinary school and was extremely impressed with the breakfasts and fresh ingredients). Also, Paul was gracious enough to let borrow his surfboard and then to take my wife and I fishing. We caught fish and several hours later, Paul produced a full platter of perfectly filleted fish that we ate for dinner that night. Also, not to be forgotten are the beautiful gardens and of course a hot tub.

In addition to owning the best B&B in Kaikoura, Janet and Paul are awesome and extremely interesting folks. Near the front door, there is a great picture of Janet helming a 24 foot sailboat at the beginning of a successful trip across the Atlantic from a few years back and Paul has excellent stories and pictures from his long career with the television program, 60 Minutes. We would go back to Kaikoura just to stay at The Factory in a heartbeat.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

What an awesome review! Thank you so much you guys, for taking the time to let people know about your experiences here with us at The Factory.
We had a great time meeting you both too and really look forward to hearing all about your future ventures!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at The Factory for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon tour of New Zealand. We spent 2 weeks travelling the island and stayed at 7 different hotels/B&Bs, but I must say, The Factory was by far our favourite place! Janet and Paul are the loveliest hosts you could ever meet. We felt right at home in the The Factory. The setting is gorgeous and the decor of the building is amazing. We definitely took home some interior design tips! The breakfast at The Factory had a lot to live up to as we had just arrived from a different B&B who had delicious breakfasts. But of course, Janet & Paul stepped up to (& even surpassed!) the mark! Crayfish for breakfast just cannot be beaten!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Factory and would recommend a visit to anyone. If only it wasn't so far away from home, we would go back every year! Thanks again to the Boocock's. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and we will cherish some very fond memories of your lovely home and our time in Kaikoura. Rachel & Tom.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Oh thank you so much for your kind comments. So glad we helped to make your honeymoon special. I have really loved keeping up with all your Facebook updates - hope summer is on its way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved staying at the factory! The building is an old cheese factory that has been converted into a tasteful and fascinating home with attached self-contained accommodation. Janet and Paul were so friendly and fun to talk to. They were also both brilliant with the children (9-12y) and we all enjoyed some delicious breakfasts in their home. These were home-made and lovingly created; divine smoothies and crayfish omelettes are still lingering on our palates!
We'd recommend 'The Factory' to anyone heading to Kaikoura who would like a special experience. They'll find it with Janet and Paul.

Room Tip: You get the whole place to yourselves and all three rooms were lovely!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellersgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We really enjoyed meeting you all and especially loved spending time with your very clever and wonderfully polite children. We look forward to seeing their latest creations! Hope the weather is improving on your side of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My friends and I booked The Factory as our speciality lodging in our NZ trip and this was one of the highlights for our trip. Expectations were high but we were not prepared (at all!) for the wonder of The Factory.

We arrived to Janet's very warm welcome who graciously showed us around her house and our section of the house. She left us to explore the huge property while she prepared a welcome snack and beverage (the best ever lemonade and brownie!). We spoke briefly and among other things, we mentioned that we were looking forward to head out to Nin's Bin the next morning for some crayfish but were worried that we might get there too late. She left afterwards and came back to tell us that Paul will be making us crayfish for breakfast so that we will not have to worry about not getting our crayfish fix! We were ecstatic beyond words! She and her husband, Paul, had to leave for town to meet up with their friends, but she left us her personal number to contact her should we find ourselves in need of any help.

Janet and Paul were extremely inviting, generous, and friendly. Janet took the time to talk to us about Kaikoura town and the attractions. She also gave us a tour of her gardens! Paul introduced his chickens to us and even took the effort to dig up old photos of his adventures on the beach to show us. Be sure to catch their adorable cats wandering around the house too. And thanks to Janet's suggestion- we visited the seal pup stream the following morning and it became one of our favourite (and most unexpected) event of our trip!

The house itself was impressive and it was all so beautiful to look it. The interior is just lovely. Each of the 3 room were amazing and had their own characters. Seeing photos of the Factory before we arrived was one thing, but being in it is another thing altogether. We especially love the pulling light switches and the rolling doors.

The unit comes equipped with a flat-screen TV, a DVD player, speakers (that you can dock your iPod to), a collection of books and DVDs, a fire-place, sofa, dinning table and chairs, a fridge, an oven, a huge area to prepare food, and an induction cooker! The outdoor area has chairs, a BBQ facility, and spa!

Toiletries were provided, they smell so lovely that we decided to not use our own and we are glad we made that choice! Thought was put into every detail - down to the tissue provided (those 3-ply cold tissues are god's gift to mankind). The beds and the pillows were so wonderful, we had our best sleep of our trip here! An information booklet and many many brochures were provided, you can check into The Factory not knowing what to do in Kaikoura and these information will keep you very very busy!

Our crayfish breakfast was delightful and Paul's coffee were amazing (you should check out his machines while you are there). They overfed us and we had to zip-lock our lemon cakes for our journey back to Christchurch! If we had more stomach space to spare, we'd be asking for more rounds of coffee!

It was truly our regret that we only had 1 night to spare in Kaikoura. We have never been so blown away. Janet and Paul have left us wanting for more time there!

My apologies for the long wall of text but I am afraid no number of words can amount to the great time we had at The Factory!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Oh my goodness - what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at The Factory - we really enjoyed meeting you all and I loved showing you around the garden and hearing all about your busy lives. I am so glad you found the baby seals at the waterfall - it is a truly awesome experience.
Hope to see you again another day and thanks again for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently spent 2 weeks holiday in New Zealand. Our daughter, her partner and our 18 month old grandson were holiday there at the same time. As a treat we planned to meet them for 3 nights at The Factory at Hapuka which is 10 minutes from the bustling resort town of Kaikoura.Actually with the strong Aussie dollar and the splitting of the bill it was no more expensive that a mid range hotel in Sydney. However, there was nothing mid range about The Factory. It was 5 star all the way from the position,the really interesting and vibrant decor, the warmth and generosity of the hosts. the amenities offered and the little touches such as the chemical free shampoo the The Factory has made up. It was great for my hair. I wish you could buy it commercially!Our first day we woke up to a snow covered mountain behind us. We had glorious sunny weather . What with the snowy Mountain at the back and a beautiful deserted beach across the road the position could not be improved upon. The day only got better. My husband and son-in-law are both "water" people. when our host Paul realised this he invited them out on his boat as he was going to check his cray pots. A spot of fishing was done with rich rewards and 4 big crays were in the pots. Paul gave us 2 and the fish were divided. We had a magnificent seafood feast for dinner. Janet showed us around her amazing garden. I felt like I was in a scene from "the GoodLife". There were free range chooks running around and every sort of fruit and vegetable you could imagine. Janet even makes her own cheeses. We sampled her blue and her camembert.They were very good.Both Janet and Paul were very sweet to our little grandson.Janet provided him with lots of bright coloured tupperware, a wooden spoon and set of measuring spoons which kept him very occupied. An enduring memory of The Factory will be an image of a tiny boy chasing the chooks and the well fed family cats across a mown field with a helicopter landing pad in the middle! He didn't catch anything but he sure had fun trying. Thank you Janet and Paul for providing us with a dream mini break. IT couldn't be have been better. We hope to return one day. p.s. The swimming pool rating is for the huge spa.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallym74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We were very pleased that the weather was kind and you were able to make the most of this beautiful location. It was an absolute pleasure to have you all here - we had a lot of fun watching your gorgeous grandson exploring the grounds and adding new words to his already extensive vocabulary. What a cutie!
Paul really enjoyed the day of 'gleaning' for fish - we are awfully lucky to have so much available so close by. We look forward to seeing you all again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent two nights during our 26 day driving adventure through New Zealand, and it was NOT near enough. We chose Kaikoura for the whale watching but unfortunately the seas did not cooperate. However, Janet and Paul made up for missing out on that planned adventure. They met us from the train and took us to their beautiful home and we were so very pleased with the vacation unit. We could choose from any of the 3 bedrooms, and choose the larger one. The furnishing are very modern but comfortable and the kitchen amazing...not that we used it. Paul and Janet kept us well fed including freshly caught crawfish (rock lobster to those of us from US). It is fully equipped if we did want to cook for ourselves. The first day it was late so they drove us into town so we could have dinner while they visited with friends who had been away. We ate at Maxton's Restaurant and it was delicious. The next morning the winds were high and it didn't look like we would make the whale watch. Janet drove us in just in case and when it was cancelled she took us on a site seeing trip to see the seal colony and all the baby seals. She even picked wild blackberries while we were there. We didn't get to see the whales but we had a very relaxing 3 days and 2 nights which was needed after a busy first half of our driving vacation. Janet and Paul are amazing hosts and we can't wait to go back. Plus what a beautiful location on a beach where you can see for miles and miles!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Oh thank you so much for all your lovely comments about your stay here at The Factory. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and hearing all about your most interesting lives. So glad you enjoyed seeing the baby seals - there are now lots of them up at the waterfall - we are so lucky to be able to experience something so unique just a short distance away. Good luck with all your plans - we look forward to updates!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
5.4 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Factory

Address: 5 Hapuku Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $325 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Factory offers luxury accommodation in an historic building on the beachfront at Hapuku. Here, you can relax in peace and privacy with views of the ocean on one side and stunning snow-capped mountains on the other. Hapuku is less than 10 minutes drive from Kaikoura which is famous for its amazing marine wildlife. The Factory offers exclusive use of the guest wing and is perfect for couples, families or small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Factory Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing