We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Factory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Factory
Ranked #2 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

And another great place in New Zealand. We came to the Factory from Malborough Sounds. The drive is three to four hours with a great stop at a restaurant called the Store by the Pacific for lunch. There is one problem with the drive down you constantly stop to look at the scenery!!
Our hosts Janet and Paul continued the run of really nice, interesting people in this great country. The accomodation was outstanding, wonderful colours, very comfortable and particularly inquisitive hens! The location is amazing - snow covered mountains one side rolling deep blue Pacific on the other. We did trips out to see whales, dolphins, seals and albatross - with excellent suggestions/recommendations from our hosts for places to see and eat - really does it get much better than this? We chose to have our breakfasts with our hosts (as we did at all venues on the trip) which was once again a real treat. Lovely food, coffee and conversation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. So glad you enjoyed your trip to New Zealand and your stay at The Factory. We really enjoyed your company and hope to see you both again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Faultless, from the moment you arrive, the accommodation is stunning, the photos do not do it justice.
Your are situated right on the seafront, 2 minutes through some low dunes and you are on a expansive black sand beach. From the booming breakers appear seals and hectors dolphins and if you are lucky enough to catch Paul fishing from the beach you will soon see some pretty huge fish.
The two hosts Paul and Janet make you feel so welcome they really are the most memorable bit of the experience.
My 8 year old said it was " better that the Hilton ", not surprising as Paul and Janet welcome children with genuine friendliness and Paul had helped him reel in a fish almost as long as he is tall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterd2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Oh, thanks so much you guys for your lovely comments. We really enjoyed spending time with you all and felt very privileged to help Sam catch his first fish! So glad the weather, the dolphins and the seals all cooperated to make the weekend special for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

what can i say. we were traveling to many cities, stays in 8 different houses yet this is the children's favorite. the house, the ambiance, the host, the food, the tree house, just about everything is excellent. the beach in front of the house is amazing for the children to play with. so much fun that we wet all our boots. thanks to Paul he dried them up on the fire place, turn them occasionally the whole night to make sure they dry evenly. ooh also help our laundry too. they are just so so nice people to begin with. it felt like coming home to a family. their hospitality is beyond words and you just feel like home. a real treat indeed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Oh, thank you so much for your kind words - we really enjoyed meeting you and your family and are so glad you all had fun here despite getting a little wet on the beach! Thank you again for bringing us some of that wonderful Indonesian coffee - a rare treat indeed. Hope everyone is happy back at work and school. Maybe see you next time you are in New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is my 2nd time staying at "The Factory". The first time is my Hen's weekend, it has been a mind-blowing experience (i.e. the decor, the yummy breakfast and specially the AAA+ hospitality). This time I am with my husband and my close friend going down Mt Lyford for a snowboarding weekend. The Factory is my 1st choice for accommodation simply because of 1) the wonderful experience I had before, 2) only one hour drive away to the bottom of the Mt Lyford (there are also buses taking you from downtown Kaikoura to the ski field), 3) plus there is a spa in the Factory to relax the sore body after the intensive day:P

I have to say this time is another over expectation visit. The snow at Mt Lyford is superb and we had a fantastic white weekend. Janet and Paul are so wonderful, not only provide us the most magnificent meal even with the special dietary requirements for my friend, but also showed us around the beach and spotted a giant sea lion resting on the beach.

Highly recommended “The Factory” to everyone, you will be surprised :D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suming x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was great to see you again, and meet your bridesmaid and your new husband! Loved seeing all the wedding photos - so beautiful. I am glad Mt Lyford met your expectations - it's a lovely little skifield and no queues. Seeing the leopard seal was very exciting for us too - glad we could experience it with you. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

On my journey from Queenstown to Picton, initially I was planning to stay just for one night and ended up staying for three wonderful days. Janet & Paul are the live-in owners. They have created a very nice, welcoming industrial chic luxury B&B. The Factory is on the beachfront at Hapuku, 10 minutes North of Kaikoura. In the 100-year-old Hapuku Dairy Factory with dramatic views of snow-covered mountains on one side and the ocean on the other. Staying at The Factory is exclusive, with only one party booked at a time, three bedrooms, open fire place, heated tiled floors, fab stainless steel kitchen unit all included. Paul is always happy to make you a stiff espresso (or short black), or latte on his Italian steam machine. Janet & Paul treated me on a great home cooked dinner with red perch and blue cod I caught during the day together with Paul. The big octopus we let go..

Ahh..there’s three chickens providing lovely eggs for breakfast. A just magical place with wonderful hosts who provide just the right touches to make you feel at home yet let you be at ease in the well appointed guest area. I need to come back to write a book!

Room Tip: There's three bedrooms available for you. Perfect if traveling with a few couples and/or childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joslovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. It was such fun to meet you during your stay at The Factory and Paul really enjoyed an excuse to go out fishing - catching the big octopus was a bonus! We'll look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Paul & Janet are the native NZs' who own and operate this stunning residence. Their genuine, from the heart hospitality, was overwhelming and sincere. They are two wonderful people with big hearts. The location is near the ocean and scenic from it's vantage point. The Factory is out of the way but within a beautiful drive of the town. The accomodations are beautifully appointed and unique. We absolutely found Paul and Janet's factory to be the highlight of our trip to New Zealand!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoftWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at The Factory in January as part of my husbands 50th birthday. This was our last night and just wished we had stayed for more nights! We were there with our son and he still raves about it! From the moment we arrived we were treated like one of the family, with nothing being too much trouble. The design of the rooms were a credit to Janet, with so much attention to detail! The breakfast the next day was sublime and the coffee made by Paul was perfect! So the factory ticked all of the boxes, and we would certainly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Book way ahead, as I am sure the word is getting out there that this is the place to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHONDA48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet B, Owner at The Factory, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you so much - so glad you enjoyed your stay here - we really enjoyed hearing all your interesting stories. I hope your possom silk throw arrived safely - we have now bought 2 for The Factory and they are just gorgeous! Hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
5.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
5.5 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
5.6 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Hapuku Lodge
Hapuku Lodge
#1 of 36 in Kaikoura
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Factory

Property: The Factory
Address: 5 Hapuku Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Factory 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Factory offers luxury accommodation in an historic building on the beachfront at Hapuku. Here, you can relax in peace and privacy with views of the ocean on one side and stunning snow-capped mountains on the other. Hapuku is less than 10 minutes drive from Kaikoura which is famous for its amazing marine wildlife. The Factory offers exclusive use of the guest wing and is perfect for couples, families or small groups of friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Factory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Factory Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing