We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable Backpackers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sunrise Lodge is a nice little backpackers. There are a maximum of 3 beds per dorm room and no bunks. The mattresses are thick and soft, very comfortable. There are two tables and a decent sized kitchen with 8 burners and a few toasters and kettles. There is a separate lounge room with a tv and 2 small couches. There is also a game and book shelf. There are some parking spots and a coffee place next door with free wifi. They also provide you with 40 MB of wifi vouchers. The hostel backs up to the beach and is a short drive/walk into the main town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
12
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were offered the studio room at the front of the building on the road, this was because we were travelling with our daughter, it was a huge room which was great but it cost a fair bit, not sure if it was a good price for the area but it was more than we paid in Hamner springs. There was everything we needed in the room although it would have been nice if the carpet had been hoovered. We were advised when we booked the room that there would be road noise but be aware if you're a light sleeper the road noise for this front room is really loud at night when the trucks are flying down there and sometimes stopping on the road outside the room, our daughter woke up a lot. We were also right next to the coffee van (which did great coffee) but again we were woken by the coffee handle been wacked constantly and chitter chatter of people getting coffee which starts pretty early. Basically I wouldn't book the studio room if you're a light sleeper and want a good night sleep. Despite the noise it wasn't bad - really helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We only stayed at one backpacker lodge during our holiday and I'm glad it was this one, I think we would have been spoiled for any others. Tim and his mum were very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable and quiet. Special big up to Huki (sorry if wrongly spelled) who ran the coffee van next door - superb coffee :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saintjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first night in NZ, having just flown in to Christchurch at 4.55am. We were all exhausted and after a couple of hours driving we ready for a sleep well before lunch, so we appreciated that the room was available for early check-in. The front room (dbl with ensuite) is right on the main road, but not too noisy. Certainly didn't stop us sleeping. It's also only metres from the coffee van with free wi-fi. Overall good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil_Bunyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place backed onto the beach which was cool. We stayed in a self-contained lodge which was basic but had all the facilities we needed. We had our own kitchenette, 4 twin beds in one room and a good shower. The heating was alright as well. Very clean and spacious.

The staff were also very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you stay in a self-contained apartment, is very good value if you're in a group of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gimme_wings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in a self-contained unit at the back of the reception which was very private and had full kitchen facilities. The kitchen was so well equipped we decided not to eat out even on our only night in Kaikoura.
The room was large with one double bed and one single bed, dining table with 4 chairs and a sofa. There were only two of us so the extra bed and the sofa were perfect for our luggage. Bathroom sink was small but I guess it was fairly common in New Zealand as I saw the same sink in other places.

I would say Sunrise Lodge is in a good location, given that it's located right on main street with easy access to food and gas and the back of the lodge was a railroad and the ocean. Private parking is available.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AumAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

All the rooms in the main block were booked when we went so we stayed 4 nights in the family cottage. It's basic, but has everything you need. It did get really cold at night, but it was Autumn, so not surprising. After cooking and having the little heater in the bedroom on it was cosy in the bedroom.
The rarely used railway lines run past the back of the hostel, across which is a beautiful pebbly beach backed by mountains. Doesn't get better than that.
Marc and Osi were awesome, and if your plans get cancelled for any reasons, ask Marc and he's more than happy to offer advice on amazing things to do and places to see.
They also own the coffee caravan next door - by the way, impossible to get bad coffee in NZ - so get morning coffee and take it to the beach1
Great location, 5 mins from town centre, which is itself a street, 2 mins from Whale Watch Whaleway Station and 2 mins from the best fish and chippie, called Continental. Go there, be happy. I'm English, I know my fish and chips, and I'm considering emigrating...
Would def be happy to stay here again. It's just far enough away from the loud hostels with bars, and pissed peeps, but close to everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tamgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.1 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
1.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Alpine View Motel
Alpine View Motel
#17 of 20 in Kaikoura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge

Property: Sunrise Lodge
Address: 74 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Lodge is a small and friendly backpackers situated so close to the beach you can hear the waves breaking on the shore. We are also the nearest hostel in town to the Whale Watch. Our facilities are newly refurbished, well kept and clean. There are two kitchens available, several bathrooms and plenty of off-street parking. We offer heaps of FREE stuff, including: WiFi, table tennis, pool table, bikes, tea and coffee, herbs and spices, and a pick up & drop off service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing