We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed January 17, 2011

This is a nice place with good size clean and comfortable rooms. It’s right on the sea front and it has plenty of it’s own parking. Town is within walking distance - about 10 mins.

There is a restaurant right next door – confusingly with the same name but nothing to do with this hotel. We had dinner in there. It was ok, but nothing to write home about and it was hugely overpriced for what we had – think harbour prices in a big city. Seemed too prentitous for what it was. Go to one of the cafes/bars on the main drag – much nicer.

Hotel is ok though – would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbsandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    193
    42
    19
    7
See reviews for
66
269
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Whitemorph and we really liked it. The room had a washing machine, room with a view over the ocean and the mountains. Free parking and Internet for a small fee. We ate at the Restaurant Whitemorph also and it’s a lovely restaurant with lots of seafood.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elapela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

White Morph Luxury Studio Apartment: Advert 5 stars. Booked online. Turned out TV old square 22" screen Phillips analogue with limited channels. Old combo DVD to match. Washer/Drier out of order, advised to use communal laundry outside premises with slot machine. Bedside lamp not working...took 1 and a half days to replace light bulb. No security safe in room for valuables. Aircon locked to cold. Balcony furniture filthy and I had to clean before using. Cheap & chunky crockery. I complained about TV and washer/drier, got $20 per night reduction from $315 per night to $295.00 per night. Total $NZ 1,475.00 for 5 nights. Still grossly overpriced for the in-room facilities. If it wasn't for the view (which every business along the sweeping Esplanade shares) and the bathroom, this apartment and others like it at the White Morph the place would be hard pressed to make 4 stars. Very disappointing! I checked out Waves On The Esplanade Apartments two doors down. Unfortunately, no vacancy at this time, but excellent value by comparison.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorriganGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2010

This place is definately a full value for money..and it has got a very beautiful location...the room is not very big but still managable. It can be considered as a good option for a romantic outing...though the place is not very big but it was kept very neet and clean. in short, value for money place

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippoAndTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed in one of the luxury spa rooms, and had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished, with a washer/dryer, modern small kitchen w/ granite countertop, and nice bathroom with an amazing spa pool! The view directly onto the ocean was breathtaking, especially on a sunny morning. We also had a lovely dinner at the hotel restaurant, which I would highly recommend. The only negative comment was that the room service seemed to come by quite early (10 AM), and we weren't quite ready to leave, though they were happy to come back later, and they did a very nice job.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel seemed slightly pricey (in the off season, too) but it was nice and clean. We stayed in an ocean view room and it was so close that we could hear the waves crashing on the shore while in bed! The bathroom was very nice with a LARGE two person jacuzzi. The room was equipped with a stove top, microwave, and frig. It had a large flat screen TV and a small love seat and two accent chairs. You have to pay for internet though. It was nice and clean but very "plain Jane" in terms of decor (white walls, solid navy blue bedding). We looked at two other hotels before booking this one and it was the nicest we saw. The bed was average in terms of comfortableness, but we would recommend. None of the accommodation in Kaikoura is within walking distance of the "city center."

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifeisjustfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkswell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This was probably a top motel about 15 years ago. However, it's barely been changed in that time and the room we had was very basic and aged in its decor. Once again, internet access was expensive, and the connection was poor. (We are booking our hotels as we travel, to keep our plans flexible, so internet access is pretty essential for us!) We were told by a lady at the information centre that the White Morph was "the flashiest place to stay in town." I do find that hard to believe. Perhaps it was once, but it doesn't seem that way now! Expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.6 mi away
Quality Suites Kaikoura
Quality Suites Kaikoura
#1 of 20 in Kaikoura
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Property: The White Morph Heritage Collection
Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing