We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but characterless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We arrived in Kaikoura in pouring rain and cold. We checked out cheaper motels as mentioned in Trip Advisor. But they were rather bleak & depressing and we felt that the weather meant we needed a little comfort. The White Morph filled the bill: modern and characterless but comfortable. A well equipped studio room with patio out front (unusable because of the cold and rain) for 130 NZ $. It was not quite walkable to town but closer enough to both town and the seal colony. It was a shame that the whale watching was cancelled but the Maori Tour was fantastic. The worst thing was the man at the desk: full of false bonhomie. And the internet was very pricey

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 423 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2009

Stayed here on our first night of a tour around the South Island (having travelled by ferry from Wellington). The staff were welcoming and the room was clean and comfortable. The White Morph is close to the Whale-watching centre, though the weather was too bad for us to go out. However, a short drive along the coast is a large colony of seals and other wildlife. There were some good bars and restaurants within a few minutes drive.
We were comfortable in the White Morph after a long journey, and despite the bad weather. Would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
Thank SaldeanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We drove into town without having booked a hotel and came accross the White Morph. The manager/owner at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Our room upstairs with a lovely view directly over the bay. The room was large and very clean. The hotel is located next door to a very good restaurant for dinner and two doors away from a nice little cafe perfect for breakfast or a light lunch. No complaints!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TwoBrits93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights and the motel met our needs. The room was a good size, with a fair little kitchenette. Unfortunately. our patio overlooked the car park, rather than having a seaview, but the weather wasn't great anyway.

I'd happily stay here again. especially with the great restaurant next door.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GarrySwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Even though we had a great stay at Anchor Inn Motel last time, we decided to try a new place this time round; it is the White Morph Motor Inn Kaikoura, situated on 92-94 Esplanade, which is quite close to town center.

Since we are only there for one night, we decided to try its Luxury Studio Apartment, the best unit in White Morph Inn. Our unit has in-room hydro-therapy spa, kitchen (very basic), very nice bath rob, air con, under floor heating in the bath room, and private balcony.

When we entered the room, I was a bit dissapointed as I can't really feel the "luxury". The furishings is about late 1990 style which isn't saying much. The room isn't big, probably around 30 square meters or less.

The kitchen is very modern, however, don't expect to cook a big meal as the dinning area is very limited and the ceramic cooktop is pretty useless when compared to a gas hub.

The in-room hydro-therapy spa can be used for 2. It takes about 20minutes to fill it up so take that into consideration when you want a spa. Also, we ran out of hot water after the spa which was quite annoying. This should not have had happened given the unit's 5-Star rating.

The view is pretty decent but there are a couple of big pine trees that are blocking the view.

From the rating organisation: A 5-Star unit is " Exceptional. Among the best available in New Zealand" - [--]
However, I do not feel the unit is among the best available in NZ, given the money that we paid. The unit is at best 4-Star.

We will probably try the Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge or the Waterfront Apartments or just go back to Anchor Inn Motel as a safe bet.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank case_mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in a "luxury" apartment over looking the water. Nice view, fantastic spa bath, but we had a few problems. The washing machine didn't work until it was pulled out of the cupboard blocking our path to the bathroom, and when we cancelled our thrid night due to bad weather for whale watching we got an extremely rude response from the owner. Overall the service was pretty bad. We checked out half an hour late due to problems with the washing machine and waiting for it to finish it's cycle and they tried to charge us extra.
Not happy. Wouldn't stay there again. They made us feel awful when we were trying to enjoy a hardearned holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank MelbourneChicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Disappointed - nothing like the website! Shabby, run-down. Very dated & basic. Restaurant next door of the same name is super though!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $132 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing