We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Oct'13. The White Morph is across the road to the beach and about a 5 minute walk into town. The hotel was clean and the kitchen with the hot plates came in handy for meals. Kaikoura is just beautiful and even though we had a garden view we could see the ocean from our patio. The reception workers were all knowlegable about the area and friendly.

Room Tip: Ground Floor was a bit noisy from travellers in the above rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcjdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIke R, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear jcjdavies

Thank you for your wonderful comments. Glad you enjoyed your time at The White Morph and in Kaikoura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    184
    40
    17
    7
See reviews for
64
256
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A great location on the esplanade at Kaikoura. Our standard room did not have an ocean view but they were available. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. We had access to Wifi - 100mb limit per device. It was a short drive to town and there is a restaurant attached to the motel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofuhrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comment, I agree, being on the waterfront you can take a short walk and sit on the shore and enjoy the ocean in 1 minute. A standard studio has all that you sometimes need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Checked in late one evening to the first well lit accommodation on the beach. What a great set up. A nice big standard room. Very comfortable had everything we needed. As a standard room we had no view of the ocean but these are available. As we spent most of our time out there was no point. Had the usual motel setup. Kitchen with all the basic requirements and a very comfortable large bed and good sky channels and big TV. Great to chill while you enjoy a glass of Sav Blanc or Pinot.

I would recommend this place.....silly name. Morph??? A type of bird.
You must do the peninsular walk, it was an absolute highlight!!!! Speak to Sue at the front desk.

Room Tip: Got more $$$$ get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melmain62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Our Team appreciate your comments, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location on the shore front and a quick drive to the town centre. The welcome was great as were the suggestions and directions to points of interest. Overall a great location to stay and would stay there again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bricari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you, we do try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location was very good,overlooking the beach and a nice walk into the town centre. We stayed for one night on our 4 week tour of both islands. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we do genuinely try to provide a good service for our guests. We appreciate you feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were absolutely delighted with the exceptional customer service provided by White Morph during our stay in Kaikoura from Australia. Our apartment was warm, inviting and clean with lots of room for the family. We were also not bothered by any other guests in the hotel and had a fantastic sleep! All the staff were friendly and helpful. Of note, we would like to thank the Manager for his helpful advice about the Ohau Seal Pups. This was an absolutely amazing experience! We will certainly return in the future to experience more of what Kaikoura has to offer and we will certainly be staying at White Morph again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Only too happy to help. We try to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night here in a studio room out overlooking the car park with a portion sea view. Absolutely great value at $120. This was June though and out of season. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. Good water pressure in the shower over the bath. The owner was very friendly and suggested we drive up to the lookout before it got dark or the weather changed the following morning. Well worth it and only 5mins away.
The Encounter cafe right next door did a good breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robinson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Primelocation, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Stuning view up there at the look-out and thank you for your positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Property: The White Morph Heritage Collection
Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing