We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to stay with lovely view and great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A really nice place to stay with lovely view and great service.”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Located along the beach White Morph Motor Inn has a beautiful seaview and nice clean rooms. Fully equipped with kitchen facilities. Patrick was very courteous and helpful with a cheery disposition. Definitely great place to stay at Kairoura. Convenient to food, shopping and to whale watching or seal colony.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    188
    41
    18
    7
See reviews for
64
263
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Superb location and place to stay.
We were running late after driving down from Picton, so glad that we got a room here, the owner was extremely friendly, together with the brilliant restaurant next door would make the White Morph my list of places to stay when I return here.
Price was high, but was willing to pay it as we were late and like I said the room and location was superb.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepvaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at the white morph for 2+ weeks in Kaikoura, NZ. I had a beautiful room with kitchen and a spa bathroom. Robes were provided, too. As were coffee, tea, milk and cookies. My room overlooked the ocean and the beautiful white capped mountains that march to the sea. Itmwas mezmerizing. The staff were very hospitable and made me feel at home. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms along the esplanade have the best view, but also are more expensive. I think the view is w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettibMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A great place to stay to catch the early morning trips out of the Dolphin Experience. (My favorite was the Albatross Experience.) It's a pleasant walk to Kaikoura's main street, and in the other direction a longer walk to the peninsula and the seal beach. The rooms are clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

You are situated about 50 meters from the entrance to one of the best pelagic bird trip providers when you sleep here. The owner even accepted us arriving long after opening hours due to the fact that the ferry from North Island arrived very late at Picton. Rooms are modernly equipped and have more than enough space for easy travellers. When you see the map you understand that it´s nice to have a small front porch directed towards the sea as well. I think that the number of cars are to few to make traffic noise in this town, but I was so much out of town looking for birds that I do not want to be arrested on that statement. Very nice owners.

Room Tip: I never saw any pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the Superior Studio rooms which was first class and at the discounted rate we received, very very good value. Almost all the facilities you may need, king size bed, sofa and full kitchen facilities. Bathroom good too with bath and power shower. Great views too although somewhat restricted if you are not on the seawardfacing right of the block. They do charge for WiFi - so if you need it - take a mobile stick. The restaurant of the same name on site (not the same business) is fine dining with a wonderful dining room and of course views.

Room Tip: Do go for the Superior Studio with the highest number possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

March 2012 was our 2nd visit to the White Morph and I can recommened the units - spacious and well appointed. The adjacent cafe (different ownership) is very good, and the beach is across the road. It's a bit of a hike (c.20 min) to the main Kaikoura street but you are likely to have a car for a NZ holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Property: The White Morph Heritage Collection
Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing