We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for bird trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place for bird trips”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

You are situated about 50 meters from the entrance to one of the best pelagic bird trip providers when you sleep here. The owner even accepted us arriving long after opening hours due to the fact that the ferry from North Island arrived very late at Picton. Rooms are modernly equipped and have more than enough space for easy travellers. When you see the map you understand that it´s nice to have a small front porch directed towards the sea as well. I think that the number of cars are to few to make traffic noise in this town, but I was so much out of town looking for birds that I do not want to be arrested on that statement. Very nice owners.

Room Tip: I never saw any pool or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    188
    41
    18
    7
See reviews for
64
262
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in one of the Superior Studio rooms which was first class and at the discounted rate we received, very very good value. Almost all the facilities you may need, king size bed, sofa and full kitchen facilities. Bathroom good too with bath and power shower. Great views too although somewhat restricted if you are not on the seawardfacing right of the block. They do charge for WiFi - so if you need it - take a mobile stick. The restaurant of the same name on site (not the same business) is fine dining with a wonderful dining room and of course views.

Room Tip: Do go for the Superior Studio with the highest number possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

March 2012 was our 2nd visit to the White Morph and I can recommened the units - spacious and well appointed. The adjacent cafe (different ownership) is very good, and the beach is across the road. It's a bit of a hike (c.20 min) to the main Kaikoura street but you are likely to have a car for a NZ holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are a Gisborne couple who travel south several times a year to ski, tramp and visit family in the Mainland. For decades we have driven through Kaikoura, stopped for lunch on the waterfront and carried on south, thinking we really must stay here sometime and explore this stunning place where the mountains meet the sea. On this occasion, the ferry sailings worked in our favour so we decided to break our trip at Kaikoura. We googled accommodation en route and found such glowing reviews of The White Morph, we could not resist.
Arriving late evening to a warm greeting in an impressive reception/lobby area right on the waterfront, our friendly host Patrick showed us to a standard room in the large complex which was very comfortable, warm, good value and immaculately clean with everything we needed for a quick overnight stay. We had a fabulous meal of lamb shanks and seafood chowder next door at The White Morph Restaurant in front of a warm fire with the added bonus of watching the rugby on a big screen.
As we drove on south feeling very positive about our Kaikoura experience, we were treated to a magnificent sunrise over the ocean.
Two weeks later, having skied our way north from Wanaka, we stopped off at Kaikoura again. Patrick remembered us and this time gave us a large superior room at the rear of the complex with a view of the ocean. Again, the room was warm, spacious, well-equipped, very comfortable and spotlessly clean - the kitchen and bathroom positively gleamed!
We arrived in time to do the spectacular peninsula walkway and have a delicious fish and chip supper at a main street pub. We left early next day as the sun rose over a sparkling ocean, casting a golden glow on the freshly snow-clad mountains.
To cap off a memorable experience, we revisited the seal colony at Ohau Point where we were delighted to find hundreds of frisky, playful pups up early, cavorting in their favourite playground, the pool under the waterfall.
We are already planning our summer trip south and are looking forward to staying again at The White Morph. Over the years, we have had some very disappointing accommodation experiences but this place is perfection. At last we have found a “home” where we know we will be well looked after and every need catered for. Next time we will stay longer and hopefully check out the views from the beachfront apartments . . . I’m sure they are breathtaking.

Room Tip: The beachfront apartments are more expensive but well worth the stunning view if you are staying lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

When me and my friends rang to book a room the owner said " we're not the cheapest but we're the bloody best". I can safely tell you that this is not the case.
When I saw the reviews for this hotel and the pictures in the brochures I was impressed and thought it would be a good place to stay. We booked an apartment for 5 people and paid $245 per night which isn't cheap and nearly as expensive as a apartment in Wellington CBD. I expected to get one of their sea view luxury apartments but instead we recieved a motel style unit. My first impression of the apartment wasn't good. The furnishings looked very cheap and tacky. The furniture in the lounge and kitchen reminded me of the cheap tat you can pick up in IKEA ! The kitchen was small and pokey and there was no washing machine/dryer in the apartment. The carpet throughout the apartment reminded me of the cheap carpet I had in my student house at University. The bedrooms were a disappointment too - one of our party said the bedrooms reminded him of a backpacker hostel. On the plus side, the beds were pretty comfortable and we all slept well. 
One major issue was that there seemed to be a fly infestation in the upstairs of the apartment. We must have killed over 100 in our stay here. This was a real kick in the face. You don't expect to have to go on fly killing sprees when you're paying $245 per night.
Overall a pretty dissapointing stay. Although we still enjoyed our stay in the area. The whale watching trip was fantastic and the local golf course was great value for money. A good eatery is "the whaler" which can be found on the main street.
My advice to you if you're looking for a nice place to stay in the area is to give this place a miss and instead try "waves on the esplanade" which is located next door. It looks nicer, has better reviews on TA and is a similar price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surelynotme, Manager at The White Morph Heritage Collection, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
The White Morph management prides itself on taking a pro-active approach to guests requirements.
Guests have the opportunity when they see their room for the first time to contact us and request another room type if they think they will not be happy or comfotable. If they felt it unsuitable at that point we would not hold them to their reservation.
Our Luxury spa rooms on the waterfront have only a king-bed and would not be suitable for 5 young gentlemen. There was availability if they wished for this room type.
We did not have any approach from the young gentlemen that they were dissatisfied over their two night stay. We do appologised for the 'Kelp flies'. During very rough seas, these insects look for the solace of any open window.
Yours sincerely, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our stopping place for our last night before flying out from Christchurch. Fitting end to an enjoyable if too brief NZ holiday.
We had a two bedroom, two story suite along one side of the complex with views of the mountains and the ocean from both the bedroom balconies. There was a kitchenette, sitting room and shower/toilet on the 1st floor and then two large bedrooms each sleeping three and a separate toilet/wash basin on the 2nd level.
All very clean and spacious, as were most of the places we stayed this trip, NZ accommodation has really improved since our last visit in 2007.
Well within walking distance to the town centre and there's a restaurant next door if you don't want to venture too far from your unit. The bays is just across the road with some coastal walks as well.
All in all a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fwombats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire , England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Central, well kept, helpful staff, just a really nice place to stay. Basic but you're not going to get the Hilton in a place like Kaikoura, and thank goodness for that. Breakfast at the cafe next door is SCRUMMY and the hotel is a nice walk from the shops and bars and not a far drive from the seals. Also great starting point to walk around the penninsula.
Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: We could see the sea from our balcony but were at the back, front rooms will have a clearer view but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Property: The White Morph Heritage Collection
Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing