We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The White Morph Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
California,USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed March 1, 2008

We drove into town without having booked a hotel and came accross the White Morph. The manager/owner at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Our room upstairs with a lovely view directly over the bay. The room was large and very clean. The hotel is located next door to a very good restaurant for dinner and two doors away from a nice little cafe perfect for breakfast or a light lunch. No complaints!

  • Liked — View. Room 46. Clean. Friendly.
  • Disliked — No lift.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoBrits93010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    191
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
64
268
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Stayed here for 2 nights and the motel met our needs. The room was a good size, with a fair little kitchenette. Unfortunately. our patio overlooked the car park, rather than having a seaview, but the weather wasn't great anyway.

I'd happily stay here again. especially with the great restaurant next door.

  • Liked — It's right on the coastline
  • Disliked — No view of the sea from our room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GarrySwann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

Even though we had a great stay at Anchor Inn Motel last time, we decided to try a new place this time round; it is the White Morph Motor Inn Kaikoura, situated on 92-94 Esplanade, which is quite close to town center.

Since we are only there for one night, we decided to try its Luxury Studio Apartment, the best unit in White Morph Inn. Our unit has in-room hydro-therapy spa, kitchen (very basic), very nice bath rob, air con, under floor heating in the bath room, and private balcony.

When we entered the room, I was a bit dissapointed as I can't really feel the "luxury". The furishings is about late 1990 style which isn't saying much. The room isn't big, probably around 30 square meters or less.

The kitchen is very modern, however, don't expect to cook a big meal as the dinning area is very limited and the ceramic cooktop is pretty useless when compared to a gas hub.

The in-room hydro-therapy spa can be used for 2. It takes about 20minutes to fill it up so take that into consideration when you want a spa. Also, we ran out of hot water after the spa which was quite annoying. This should not have had happened given the unit's 5-Star rating.

The view is pretty decent but there are a couple of big pine trees that are blocking the view.

From the rating organisation: A 5-Star unit is " Exceptional. Among the best available in New Zealand" - [--]
However, I do not feel the unit is among the best available in NZ, given the money that we paid. The unit is at best 4-Star.

We will probably try the Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge or the Waterfront Apartments or just go back to Anchor Inn Motel as a safe bet.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank case_mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in a "luxury" apartment over looking the water. Nice view, fantastic spa bath, but we had a few problems. The washing machine didn't work until it was pulled out of the cupboard blocking our path to the bathroom, and when we cancelled our thrid night due to bad weather for whale watching we got an extremely rude response from the owner. Overall the service was pretty bad. We checked out half an hour late due to problems with the washing machine and waiting for it to finish it's cycle and they tried to charge us extra.
Not happy. Wouldn't stay there again. They made us feel awful when we were trying to enjoy a hardearned holiday.

  • Liked — Spa bath
  • Disliked — The service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MelbourneChicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Disappointed - nothing like the website! Shabby, run-down. Very dated & basic. Restaurant next door of the same name is super though!

  • Liked — Restaurant next door
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2007

We stayed at the White Morph Inn for just 1 night. Check in was good and the staff were really helpful. Upon arrival, we thought that the place looked just ok from the outside and we could see through to some of the more basic rooms and they didnt look that great, so we were worried about the standard. However we had actually booked into the Superior/luxury rooms and were not disappointed. The rooms were spacious, clean; they had a little kitchen area and a great bathroom with a huge bath Jacuzzi bath tab!!! The views from the room were great and we looked right out to the ocean and also had a balcony! We would definitely recommend going for the superior/luxury rooms if your budget will allow it really was worth it.

The location was pretty good and the centre of Kaikoura is about a 20 minute walk from the accommodation.

A delicious breakfast was served 2 doors down at a local café.

We really enjoyed our nights stay here and would definitely recommend the superior/luxury rooms.

  • Liked — The superior rooms and the bath tubs
  • Disliked — Room standard varied dramatically between basic and superior
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyneside,UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2007

Only stayed one night but wish it could have been more. Going by previous reviews we must have been in the new part because it was pristine and very well appointed. Jacuzzi bath, neat litle kitchenette and a washer dryer. Overlooked the sea(over a road) but we were not bothered by noise. Restuarant next door was excellent. Manager/owner? was helpful and extremely pleasant. Can only speak as I found!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank plod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.0 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Morph Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Morph Heritage Collection

Property: The White Morph Heritage Collection
Address: 92-94 Esplanade | post code: 7300, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly White Morph Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The White Morph Heritage Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the Esplanade in iconic Kaikoura, The White Morph enjoys commanding views of the ocean right to the distant horizon and mountains, and gives you access to all of the region's many experiences. We offer a range of 5 Star and 4 Star Qualmark rated studios and self-contained apartments. Our 5 Star Premium studios include an ocean views and a hydrotherapy spa en-suite. Our 4 Star Garden Studios and Family Apartments look out to the garden area. Cafe Encounter, Shops, movie theatre and all activities are in close vicinity. 8 Premium Studios, king beds, with hydra-therapy spa baths. 4 Premium Studios, with either a king bed or twin beds,with spa baths. 4 Deluxe Studios, king bed with bath and shower. 3 Family Apartments, accommodation for up to 6 persons. 12 Garden Studios with queen and single beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Morph Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Morph Motor Hotel Kaikoura
White Morph Hotel
White Morph Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing