We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dump - avoid at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Reviewed February 21, 2014

After finding Kaikoura fully booked we reluctantly booked into Dusky Lodge. Having spent a few years travelling I thought I had seen it all, but this dump takes the rosette for 'end of the season who gives one' award.

We opted for the double room with ensuite, sounds nice ay? Well you'd be sadly disappointed. It seems some not so bright spark wrongly wired up the bathroom fans meaning if one is in use, they are all on. Which is ok during the day but a tad wearing when it kicks in randomly throughout the night. As for the room? Well picture a cell with a sliding door and a tiny bed with a sheet and... well, thats it. Who needs working lights, carpet that covers the floor, or stainfree bedding? Unfortunately, and call me old fashioned - most of the traveling population does.

It's clearly coming to the end of the season, and I'm sure the place will receive a well earned face lift, but I won't be returning in this lifetime.

On a positive note, there is a great bakery next door.

See, I managed to say something nice!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ItsTheLittleThings22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot F, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay at Dusky Lodge. It is unfortunately true that in 4 of our standard double ensuite bedrooms downstairs, the fan goes on for all the rooms at the same time. To avoid this being a hassle at night, we put signs encouraging people to turn off the light as soon as they do not need it anymore ; I'd like however to apologize for the inconvenience it has been for you.

The size of the bed in these rooms is a double, which is stated when people check in. We do have queen sized beds in our deluxe rooms upstairs. All beds are fully made with pillows and duvets, as well as extra blankets if required.

When it comes to the description of the room, I have to say that I'm pretty surprised to read about broken lights, missing carpet (???) and stained sheets since it is something that we always check for. However, sometimes it can happen that a light bulb dies during the day or that a little bleach stains manage to get through our laundry manager's expert eye... but we would have been happy to change the light or make the bed again for you if you had let us know. Being that our reception is open from 7am to 9pm, we could have easily saved you from an unfortunate miserable stay.

Sincerely,

Margot Fontenay - Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 186 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Overall a good place to stay but I am being critical as (1) a solo traveller in her 30s (2) who appreciates good hygienic food prep areas. Both were issues here as most of the guests were a decade younger and German speaking so difficult to engage with. Though bins were covered (good one) there were plenty of large flies landing on all surfaces in the kitchens. I would suggest fly paper or uv lights. The pool and patio was lovely. The laundry room fine but could benefit from clothes pegs for outdoor drying (who wants to pay $4 to use the dryer??). Charging $1 for a towel seems petty. I liked the location, though out of town was close by and near convenience stores. The hand dryer in the Ladies loo was broken. Lights in there couldn't be turned on except the one above the mirror. Attention to a few details would make this a fab place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank Minty_Danni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hostel is a 10 minute walk from the main street with bus stop and i site, but close to a supermarket. Stayed in a double ensuite room, which was clean but the bathroom light-switches are connected so that if one is on in the downstairs rooms, the bathroom fan is on in all. This was a bit of an annoyance as it got very loud. But overall a nice hostel, didn't use the pool but looked nice.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank 2012kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Pans without handles, covered in grease, all messy and dirty in the kitchens. My friend a week later still has bug bites. Bathrooms acceptably clean.It's cheaper than other backpackers but not worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roulling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Six birth room looked ok, but both my husband and my 10 year old son got bed bug bites. I see now that same problem reported on reviews 2 years ago so not much has changed. Also kitchen a health hazard - very grimy and smelly. Spa looked nice but the numbers off beer bottles lined up by the occupants too off putting for us to try it. Dont go here.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJFC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margot F, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Hello,

We are really sorry to hear that you might have encountered bed bugs at our hostel and would like to let you know that we took all the dispositions to get rid of them.

The check of the room didn't reveal anything but we decided to completely spray the room just to be sure, in addition to the regular spraying of the beds.

It is important that you understand that bedbugs is a well-known plague in the hotel and hostel sphere and that it doesn't imply that the place lacks of hygiene ; bedbugs are brought in by travelers, often unaware that they are carrying them. This is why it is so important that whenever this happens, you let the hostel management know as soon as possible so that we can stop them before they get bigger in number. We thank you for that.

Once more, I apologize in the name of the entire Dusky Team.

Margot Fontenay, manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful out doors, great staff, the pool and spa was fantastic especially after a swim with the dolphins, accommodation is so much better then some of the places I have stayed at. We had a beautiful feed cooked by the owner, it was sooooo good. I recommend this place to others.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

**REVIEW NOTES**
I travel a lot on business by myself and being self-employed very keen on price and keeping expenses low.

And so the following factors about where I stay in my reviews are the most important to me. I these mark out of 5: 0 = very poor / absent, to 5 = could not be better, n/a means not assessed.

I hope theses niche ratings will help other travellers with similar needs.
_____________________________________________________
**RATINGS**

Enough space in room to easily use as temporary office and sleeping space: 5

Desk or similar other surface to work at laptop: 5

Value for money at price paid: 5

Helpfulness of staff: 5

Car parking value for money: 5 (free)

Access by public transport: buses pass outside

Somewhere to go for a relaxing walk after work nearby: Lots - beach just over the road - short drive to the Kaikoura Peninsula for great trails, views and peace

**Other notes**
Laundry facilities and pool very welcome
Supermarkets and takeaways walking distance away

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balanced_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
Seaview Motel
Seaview Motel
#16 of 32 in Kaikoura
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine View Motel
Alpine View Motel
#17 of 20 in Kaikoura
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
1 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusky Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range: $16 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing