We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sunrise Lodge(Kaikoura)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
43
66
40
13
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
66
40
13
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubdouble ensuitebig kitchensfree and fast wifisnowy mountainsown bathroomgreat facilitiesvisiting kaikourawould definitely stay here againwell equipped kitchenclose to townwhale watchingspalodgeheaterbbqearthquake
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 194 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked in without having read any reviews beforehand which turned out quite good as some of them dont seem to be great...We had a fantastic time there though! The lodge is pretty big which gives you the choice of meeting people or sticking to yourself (everyone who has travelled for a while will know that some days, you just don't feel like doing the backpackers small talk). So we didn't mind that it is a little more anonomous there. The pool area is great (and included in the rate!) and the upstairs rooms are spacious and very clean. I don't know why some people left those comments, but we stayed there for three days and every single day they cleaned the entire hostel and it was very tidy unless guests left their dishes behind. It was also quiet, so it is definitely not a party hostel, but a good place to hang out and relax.
I think they got new staff there or maybe new management, 'cause the receptionist lady was constantly scraping old signs off the doors and kept updating stuff. She was also very nice and helpful and did everything possible to book a dolphin swim tour for us.
I really liked our room upstairs and compared to what we paid for other accommodation before we definitely got way more out of this one with sauna, spa pool and swimming pool... I would happily recommend this place. It's not luxury, but it is a good, tidy and spacious backpackers with spa :-) Also walking distance into town center (5min max), lots of restaurants around it and pretty much next to a convenient store.

Room Tip: upstairs en suites are nicest, some of the other rooms are a bit bare, but spacious and clean...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Verena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Do you know any other hostel in NZ with poo, spa and sauna? It was a great surprise for us that at Dusky Lodge all that was included for only 21$ a night as a bbh member. Even though it's one of the bigger hostels it's a great place to meet heaps of people and enjoy beautiful Kaikoura togehter. The staff was really friendly and helpful, the room tidy and the kitchens fully equipped. All you need to be a happy backpacker. Definately one of the best places I've stayed during my travels. :)

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PiaKurzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our room on the top floor was clean and quiet. The reception staff were helpful when I had to ask for the sauna to be turned on. I did not really fancy the small swimming pool. The communal kitchen was messy.
The price was reasonable for our needs ($80 per room per night) and we knew it was a good walk or short drive out of the main town. The worst thing had nothing to do with Dusky Lodge, but with a neighbouring property, where a morning sight would usually be some young girl vomiting over the balcony !!
We were an "older" couple, and I would not have liked to be there on my own, mainly because of its neighbours .

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights and was worst 3 nights of our 5 week trip. Ensuite room was good size and clean but it was cold. the heating was controlled by the hostel so you couldn't turn it on. also, an extractor fan in another bathroom was on all night and was hard to sleep. there is a tv in the room but it's in a crap position.kitchens were dirty.one fridge had mould growing and the smell would knock you out.i told the manager and he said it would be cleaned in 30 mins. 3 days later it was still in the same state. only plus is this place is near the super market if you are walking, but that's not enough.....i wouldn't stay here again that's for sure.

Room Tip: try find somewhere else!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Have stayed in many hostel's throughout New Zealand and Australia. Dusky lodge is split over 2 floors and we experienced nights in both. Big difference between the two. Downstairs (dorms and doubles with shared bathrooms) were small, not particularly clean and had a dirty kitchen. The upstairs by comparison was completely different. Large ensuite rooms, tv, new linen and towls provided. Had access to separate kitchen reserved for upstairs guests which is larger, cleaner and modern in comparison. Our recommendation would be to definitely pay that extra $10 or so for ensuite!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 31, 2017

Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews