We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best hostel in NZ!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Skjetten, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Maybe the best hostel in NZ!”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Dusky Lodge is about a ten minute walk from "downtown" Kaikoura. My girlfriend and I sayed in a dorm with four others. The room was clean but there where no individual lights by the beds, and only two wallsockets as well. The bathrooms where clean and the showers even produced hot water! We didn't use the kitchens (two of them) but they seemed all right. Lots of space in the fridge for your stuff. There are several places to sit down and chill out here too, so its a great place to meet other travelers, or you can find yourself a quiet corner and watch som tv. The best thing with this place may be the view from the terrace on the back of the building, simply magnificent. Our busdriver said this was the best hostel in NZ, and we belive him.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BastianConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    66
    36
    12
    30
See reviews for
13
73
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

I'm not really accustomed to backpackers accommodation, but in an attempt to keep costs down, decided to try this place out.

The room was pretty clean, well equipped (tv, kettle, en suite shower). The staff were helpful. I didn't use some of the other facilities so couldn't comment on these.

It was a bit noisy, and the location isn't exactly great but hey, you get what you pay for!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank gemgemg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Kitchen was filthy, the decking outside the kitchen had 4 rusty obsolete fridges on it and had not been cleaned for months, old wood, sisters webs etc.
En-suite room shared the same fan in the bathroom as 6 others, so if any room used the bathroom light, the fans went on everywhere. Extremely noisy all night. Underneath a walkway and kitchen also very noisy from people walking around there all night.
My advise, find a differrent backpackers

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Mackay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Nice place.Clean rooms.Helpful staff.Showers were good .So great place

Room Tip: all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabella t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed in a double ensuite on 5 Feb 12. Our room had no furniture items except one double bed and one small (9 inches x 18 inches) coffee table. No cupboard, no chair, even no racks to put your clothes and belongings. Only supplied with a bottle of cleansing lotion for washing your hands and two 'old' towels. No complementary coffee. No fridge to keep food. Outside our room there was a noisy drainage pipe and therefore we asked for a change of room. We saw one room vacant just next door but the reception said it was booked with key issued already. However, till we left the next day, it was still empty. Besides, when we came back around 8 pm in the evening, there was a big car with a boat on trail just parked outside our room blocking our way in-and-out (not to mention blocking our view), we told the reception and he promised to ask the car to be driven away. Till we left, the car was still there. (the reception only opened up to 9 pm so he couldn't care less). Definitely not value for money as we found some better and cheaper hotel in the town centre during our city trip that day. Definitely not recommended.

Room Tip: may be the dorm with lockers and food storage is more value for money as the Lodge appears to target...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I phoned up to book a 4 bed share a week before I arrived. Luckily I phoned the day I was to arrive as they had not logged my booking. I was upgraded to a double enquite.

The kitchen was filthy, the appliances hadn't been cleaned for a long time, the electric sockets didn't work for the microwave.
The bedroom was clean but the bed had not been made very well.
There were lots and lots of flies including midges, sandflies etc which bite.
This is expected as NZ south island has quite a few of these flies. But, if the place was cleaner the number of flies would decrease.

Given the filth of the place, it wasn't worth the $53 per night I paid (with BBH discount).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJAT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I realise this review contradicts some of the others about this place but I recently stayed there for a weekend and it was just great. Staff were helpful, the room was clean, we opted to share bathrooms with others and they were clean and showers were good (maybe just needed a peg to hang your towel up)
It was $75 a room for the 4 of us, so good value.
A good spa, deck and pool set up of you wish to use it.. Plenty of people to chat too.
A little noisy at times but hey, it's a shared place, if you want quiet then you have to go elsewhere.
Would go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faysie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Dusky Lodge & Backpackers, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Dusky has new Management since 2015 and lots of great changes have been made. Hope to see you again in the future.

The Dusky team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
Dolphin Lodge Backpackers
#8 of 36 in Kaikoura
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusky Lodge & Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusky Lodge & Backpackers

Property: Dusky Lodge & Backpackers
Address: 67 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dusky Lodge & Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is situated on Beach road, Kaikoura. We are the largest hostel in Kaikoura catering for groups and budget travellers. We offer a clean homely environment with bunk rooms, doubles, twins, ensuite rooms and heating in all rooms. All bed linen and pillows are provided. There are 3 large kitchen's fully equipped as well as BBQ's on the decks free to use. We have a large heated salt water pool, spa and sauna to enjoy while staying with us. Guest computers are available and the wifi can be used throughout the building. The hostel is only 5 minute walk to the town centre, and across the road from Whale Watchers. The best bakery in town is situated right beside us and grocery stores only minutes away. The intercity bus can drop you off outside the hostel, ask the driver when you start your journey. We have plenty of parking space and it's free to use. Luggage storage short term is available, if needed ask at reception. Dusky Lodge & Backpackers is a great place to relax, unwind and take in the great views and spectacular sunsets from our extensive decks. Our friendly team can help book tours or give you advice on what to do while you are with us. We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dusky Lodge & Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing