We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely roast great price”
Review of Donegal House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donegal House
Ranked #21 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This pub is worth the visit 7 minutes from Kaikoura, check out the atmosphere, the Irish food and the music. We went on a quiet night and loved the place. If you went there when its bust I imagine a brilliant night out. We only dined we did not stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

A one-night stay in a motel style hotel with friendly pub attached. Room was pleasant, clean and spacious, overlooking the gardens, with patio chairs outside on the verandah. In the pub, friendly staff served a range of perfectly adequate food at a reasonable price. We had the roast, which was typical of what you would get in an English (or Irish) pub. The continental breakfast next morning was a bit limited in choice, but again adequate. Car parked right outside the door was handy for luggage transfer. Would stay again if passing through Kaikoura, rather than in Kaikoura town itself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

not a lot of choice for hotels in this area.hotel was a single story building,you parked your car in front of room.the rooms were quite basic, but clean and o.k. for one night.the bonus of this hotel was the lovely gardens, the horses,the lovely food served at dinner and the nice staff and owners.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After 10 days on the road rushing in and out of motels, this was a lovely place to relax. We sat out on the verandah for the afternoon and relaxed in the sun. We ate in the restaurant, I had blue cod which was okay, I've eaten better but am not complaining. My partner had rib eye fillet which was actually scotch fillet, myself being a steak connesiur and bad speller I did notice that, but my partner didn't lol. The restaurant was busy and highly entertaining with their backward ticking clocks and the Ladies toilet sign leading to the broom cupboard. Murray the owner is a busy man, but very friendly. Irish descent and loves the horses. Race horses can be seen in adjoining paddocks, ducks in the garden and even a peeping Tom duck while you're eating dinner. Loved it. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Lovely rooms ask for one facing the gardens. Would make a great wedding venue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenslandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Recently spent an enjoyable evening at Donegal House. An Irish themed hotel and Restaurant close to Kaikoura (about 8 mins drive away).
Its a very picturesque property with large well set out gardens, the staff are warm and friendly and in some cases actually Irish.
Plenty of outdoor seating in a spot to watch the sun go down, the restaurant has a range of reasonable fare, I particularly enjoyed the seafood chowder, one of the best I'd had in years. The bar sports a good range of drinks with no less than 20 whisk(e)ys, 8 of them Irish, and better still the bartender was exceedingly generous on the nip size.
The downside is that the rooms are somewhat basic, and as has been commented on before, some require a bit of deferred maintenance, they were fine on the cleaning side.
If you prize ambiance over a 5 star place then you can while away an enjoyable evening here with no problems.
Plenty of parking even for oversized vehicles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The staff and food were excellent, the "swans" were absent and the "lake" was a stagnant duck pond, staff told me the salmon had all died, lack of maintenance and upkeep has left the complex in a sorry state, our room had part of a light fitting missing, loose basin tap and the shower arm would not stay in place, the duvet had a rip in it. It was clean and functional prob priced a bit high as TV was only channels 1(snowy) 2 & 3. We had a lovely warm night and enjoyed the hospitality of the welcoming bar, sitting outside at what were once lovely tables, (need a sand and recoat), cheap plastic chairs let the area down again. Overall I don't think I will return unless some work is done.

Room Tip: remember there is a bar on site, if you want quiet keep distant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nortybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited Donegal House for dinner and it was a very warm and friendly Irish type of venue. The meal was great at a reasonable price. Did not stay there but will be trying on next visit to NZ.The only down side is it is a little way out of town but it is a quiet out of the bussle type of area to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
3.4 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.5 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
3.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
1.7 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
120 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alpine-Pacific Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donegal House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal House

Address: Schoolhouse Road, Kaikoura 8280, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range: $80 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donegal House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal House 'The Little Irish Pub in the Country'. Steeped with history of the Boyd family who came from County Donegal, Ireland in 1865, with host Murray Boyd continuing the Irish hospitality. Offering 30 Ensuite rooms, Bar, Restaurant, Function facilities, Gardens & Lakes enjoy the warmth & humour that Donegal House is now famous for. You don't have to be Irish to appreciate the atmosphere & hospitality dispensed at this Kaikoura landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Donegal House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donegal House Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing