We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cosy place to stay after a day on the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Liverpool
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A cosy place to stay after a day on the water”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here after swimming with dolphins in Kaikoura. It's a little way out of town but with a car it was absolutely fine. We found the heater and electric blanket came in handy after a cold day on the sea and we were lulled into an afternoon nap before dinner. The kitchen was well equipped for our needs and the whole room was very clean. We found the owners helpful and friendly and made use of their tips for the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyLane87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a good time in Kaikoura and that you found our motels to be clean and warm after a day out at sea. Our cleaning staff made a comment that your unit was lovely and tidy after you left which from our prospective is also greatly appreciated. Kind regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dre-fach Felindre, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

A disappointing motel which is very tired and needs updating. We were greeted with the information that the fridge was not working properly. The kitchen was very old and tatty. The railway line ran right next to our room and although it was not very busy was noisy right into the late evening and early morning. Attention to the customer was poorer than other motels we experienced on our trip.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hazel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are sorry you were not happy with your stay at our property. We did apologies on arrival about the fridge. We had a new one on order but we are in Kaikoura which can take time to get items delivered. We did out best with what ice packs and we made an offer of using our own fridge.
All accommodation on Beach Road has the railway line running along side and the line is on all our directional maps. We do not hide this from potential guests.This unit in question has a car park.,BBQ area, children's playground, large hedge and fenced between itself and the line. There are others providers that are closer to the line than our motel.
We do not promote ourselves as an upmarket providers but middle of the road accommodation which offers clean and comfortable apartments. We are a Qualmark 3 star plus motel not a 5 star plus hotel which usually means guests like to be more independent when staying with us. I have my Dip in Tourism Management and have managed an New Zealand i-Site Visitor for many years in the past and I am more than willing to help guest if and when asked. We have many photos of our motels on line including TripAdvisor so please if reading this take a look/ judge for yourselves. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Only stayed one night as on a road trip. Location was good, close enough to shops and restaurant but not to close to cause noise. Host were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms we had did have a bit of an odd layout for the bathroom but everything is there and clean to provide a good stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sues09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review.I am glad you had a comfortable over night stay with us. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Spacious, very clean and well decorated main living space with functional but rather tired and cramped bathroom area.

Friendly and helpful owners. Well maintained gardens, washing line and outside seating by units and on other grassy areas.

Situated on a main route so easy to find, which isn't noisy at night, with beach access from the back. However, adjacent to a train track that produces quite a rattle a couple of times a night and a good 20 min walk into town.

Free low quota wifi very welcome.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aceadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is nice to get a review that appreciated our clean units. Most guests are happy with the allocation of 100MB as Wi-fi reception is difficult in Kaikoura with being so close to the mountains and the sea. Even our local volunteer fire service still relies on the old fashion sirens as mobile service is not reliable. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff who were very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and the sleeping, dining, kitchen, couch area is very spacious. The bathroom is a little smaller but still good. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and being close to a supermarket and a short drive into town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubblestef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us a very nice review. As I have said to others it is greatly appreciated getting positive feedback. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We didn't arrive till late, around 9pm, but called while we were traveling to advise, the staff were really friendly from the first phone call, and on arrival they were equally pleasant. The room was abb older style motel unit, but was not old style decor, it was possibly the cleanest motel unit I have stayed in. Everything was spotless. There was a train pass by around midnight, but it wasn't too bad, and I'm a light sleeper. We were about 15 mins late in checking out, but the cleaners had skipped our room. I kind of expected a knock on the door as a quick reminder, but they didn't even do that. We even apologised to the owner who was working with the cleaners and he said it wasn't problem, and we shared a couple of laughs and left in really good spirits.
I read through the other reviews after staying there and they didn't make sense, every bad thing people said, we found it to be the total opposite, so I wonder if those people had a bad day with bad weather or long tiring trips and took it out on their accommodation providers. Even their price is cheap in comparison with other places in the district.
Thanx for a really great sleep and friendly service, this is the sort of friendly welcoming that makes nz the awesome place we call home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you Guys. I really wish everybody was as kind as you have been with your review as it is greatly appreciated and makes what we do worth while. It is when we get this type of appreciation we do feel we are doing something right. Again what can I say but thank you and we would love you to come back anytime. Take care. Kind regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A very decent family accommodation. We are a family a four with two teenage kids and stayed in this motel for two nights recently. Kim was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Though the motel is old, the two room units are quite nice and well maintained. Kids were happy and we don't have any hesitation in recommending this motel to new visitiors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsb667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review as it is lovely to get a guest that would come back and recommend it to others. Again it is appreciated. Kind regards Jenny & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
2.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing