We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome,”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome,”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We didn't arrive till late, around 9pm, but called while we were traveling to advise, the staff were really friendly from the first phone call, and on arrival they were equally pleasant. The room was abb older style motel unit, but was not old style decor, it was possibly the cleanest motel unit I have stayed in. Everything was spotless. There was a train pass by around midnight, but it wasn't too bad, and I'm a light sleeper. We were about 15 mins late in checking out, but the cleaners had skipped our room. I kind of expected a knock on the door as a quick reminder, but they didn't even do that. We even apologised to the owner who was working with the cleaners and he said it wasn't problem, and we shared a couple of laughs and left in really good spirits.
I read through the other reviews after staying there and they didn't make sense, every bad thing people said, we found it to be the total opposite, so I wonder if those people had a bad day with bad weather or long tiring trips and took it out on their accommodation providers. Even their price is cheap in comparison with other places in the district.
Thanx for a really great sleep and friendly service, this is the sort of friendly welcoming that makes nz the awesome place we call home.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you Guys. I really wish everybody was as kind as you have been with your review as it is greatly appreciated and makes what we do worth while. It is when we get this type of appreciation we do feel we are doing something right. Again what can I say but thank you and we would love you to come back anytime. Take care. Kind regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    25
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
39
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A very decent family accommodation. We are a family a four with two teenage kids and stayed in this motel for two nights recently. Kim was very helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Though the motel is old, the two room units are quite nice and well maintained. Kids were happy and we don't have any hesitation in recommending this motel to new visitiors.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsb667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your review as it is lovely to get a guest that would come back and recommend it to others. Again it is appreciated. Kind regards Jenny & Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The rooms here are very spacious and well equipped. We stayed two nights. Parking is outside the room.

Good:
- LCD flatscreen
- spacious rooms
- large fridge
- microwave & hotplate
- beds were pretty good
- walking distance to the beach
- friendly owners
- shower is good

Can be improved:
- bathroom sink is a bit awkward and small
- mirrors are small
- wifi is free but data limited
- curtains and blinds do not fully block out light
- drinking glass was stuck to the cupboard...bit strange. Sticky surface or in need of cleaning?

Overall really nothing major to complain about, good basic motel slightly outside of town, but being a motel, you'd think guests have a car so that shouldn't be a problem :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi, Thank you for your helpful and nice comments. Since we have been at Alpine View we have done up the living /bedding areas with almost everything and we have started on the bathrooms so hopefully next time you come we will have done some more :). Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, Southland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The hosts were very accommodating and helpful after we arrived later than expected. Room was comfortable and had what we needed for our short stop while touring the South Island. We left early the next morning but had to turn around as a cellphone had been left behind - they had this in the office for me when we arrived and had tried multiple numbers on the phone to contact us which was appreciated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you.
It is so nice to get a helpful review and it really is appreciated as we do try our very best for our guest while they are with us. So glad we could get your phone back to you. Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The website does this place much more justice than it deserves. The only positive thing we could really say is that the owners seemed very nice and friendly.

The 'beach view' was a trail over a railway tack,through overgrown shrub, across a track and through more shrub. The playground looked dangerous and in drastic need of replacing or removing,

The accommodation was old and basic. We moved a bed slightly to fit a bassinet in and found a slipper, so unsure when under the beds were last cleaned and the cups were stuck to the shelf. The bathroom was very uninviting.

The weather was poor so after one night none of us could bear to stay the second night we had booked, so we checked out early.

Very poor value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckley78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
"The property offers spacious and clean rooms, in which you sleep well equipped with all the amenities. The staff is friendly. There is a direct access to the beach (almost always deserted). We made ​​a picnic evening with lobster, wine and background of dolphins in the ocean. I can not give full marks for the location slightly outside the centre of town."
We received the above review on the 5th Jan 2014, you would think the two reviews are 2 different properties so please come and see for yourself. We close to the sea but the beach is a reserve and we are very luck to have access via a gate . Our play area(for under 10yrs boat sandpit, rocking cow, slide & swing set) & 2 large swings with wood chips underneath for older children is safe but we always recommend that parents are in attendance. It is very difficult to extend a stay when we are full the following night and this can upset guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaikoura hotels

1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2013

the first morning we did not get our room clean that we have to wash our own dishes and make up our beds.
Indeed we late in our checkout (20min) on the next day but they literally kicked us out rudely! I rarely complain, but this one is really upset me. no wonder not many people stay there! And the price is not value for money! We get nothing for the amount we spent!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
If guests are having trouble packing I do not apologies for helping the guest pack as check out is 10am which we have advertised on the office counter and again in all units. It was Christmas day and I appreciated our staff taking time our of their special day to coming in to help us and do not expect them to be treated badly. We have been fully booked and need to have units vacated so our staff have time to clean before the new arrivals a 2pm. Our time frames on leaving in this case are different to our office clock!!. If we do not have people coming into a unit and we are asked politely we do allow late checkouts and this happens on many occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here Queens birthday weekend for 2 nights. We arrived late in the evening however the hosts couldn't have been friendlier.

In the dark it didn't look like much however once we got in the room it was big, tidy and fantastic. When we woke up in the morning and pulled back the blinds we were treated to a view of snow-capped mountains. Brilliant!! We sat there for ages eating breakkie with these great views.

They also had a laundry onsite which was fantastic to use and also a pile of books that you could borrow.

The whole place was tidy, well kept and the staff were fantastic. Easy stroll onto the beach or into town as well. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review. It is greatly appreciated and very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing