We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great bed, good value”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The bed was amazing. The room was great and comprehensive. We were kept lovely and warm by the heating. The man at the desk was really great - his wife usually looks after things but she was sick. It was great to have laundry facilities.

Room Tip: We had a studio room and it was great.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

On behalf of my husband who usually is not in the office I would like to thank you for your great review. You gave him such a good review I will make sure he is in the office a lot more:) We hope at some stage you will return. Again thank you. Regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Alpine View Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 75 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very comfortable room, furnished with individual style that suits the local environment and with welcoming personal touches.
Thanks for the very helpful information the hosts gave us about tours, places to eat and the wonderful seal pup nursery in the Ohau Stream.
We had a car and the distance from town was no problem. Closeness to supermarket an unexpected plus.

Room Tip: One of the middle rooms will be quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We have tried to decorate the units to a beach theme so very please you liked this.
I am very pleased the written directions we give to our guests heading north got you safely to Ohau Point & Stream and that you were able to see the seal pups at the waterfall for yourselves. Once again thank you. Regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The room was very clean, airy, sunny and quiet. It was very roomy. After a terrible previous night at an awful motel in Lake Tekapo, this was a very welcome relief. There is a kitchenette with a small fridge. When you check in, they ask if you want cream or light milk for your coffee/tea. There is a little picnic area and swing set for kids to play outside. It is a quiet area, even though it's off the main road and near the beach. We were there just the one night but we didn't hear the roar of the ocean nor train going by. We walked across the train tracks to check out the beach. It's a good walk away from the center of town. You can walk or drive. I liked the idea that it's away from the town center anyway. Even though it offers free internet, the hosts give you a card w/ the access password and it can be quite slow or interruptive. If you want to use a second device, you have to ask for another card. The hosts are very accomodating though and very friendly. I would definitely come back here again or refer people to this cute beachside motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakawaoMaven808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much. You have made our day and we appreciate your comments. Again many thanks Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was quite nice spacious and clean. It was homely but I wouldnt called it dated. The staff were helpful. Free wifi and parking. I would say its quite a hike to town center and we opted to drive. There is a beach down the back over some train tracks. The train runs between the water and all the properties on this side of the road. We could not hear the train once during our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for your review as we appreciate the time it takes. We love the thought of being homely and hope others will also. Again thank you. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I travel extensively throughout the South Island for my work and stay at many motels. I have many to compare this to. Firstly the bed was so comfortable, although I had finished my work early and could have left and driven home the absolute glorious comfortable night in that bed made me to decide to stay, instead of leaving. The service was impeccable and friendly and accommodating. There was only one train during the night and it did not bother me. Could not hear any road noise from the unit although it is on the main highway north. The decor was delightful. More beachy/homely and not motel like. I loved my stay and would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again. It is way up the top of my list of favourites.

Room Tip: View of the mountains with the sun shining on the unit
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine195603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and we are very pleased it was a comfortable nights sleep. It so nice to get positive feed back and we hope that you will return. Kind regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stopped on the way North at a last minute decision once we knew where accommodation was needed! Small coach parking was available on the concrete pad at the time (probably ask when booking if you need it) and the room was clean and comfy - really big too, so would be good for a family of 4 (mountain view studio). Supermarket is next door, so nice and easy to get to. Yip, a little out of the town centre, but when you visit Kaikoura, you will see that most motels are out of the centre due to it's situation. A train did go past, however trains are legally not allowed to speed past due to their coming into/out of town - so the noise is minimal (they also run right the way through the town headed to Christchurch, so it's not just this particular motel that is affected). It has easy access to the beach too. All in all, it is a place we will continue to stop at when headed north bound on the leg home. Thanks & see you both again! Cameron

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feezills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you and we look forward to your return stay as it is always good to have our guest telling us they will be back. Once again many thanks for your review as it is appreciated. Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

There are several problems with this motel: the location, even though on the map seems wonderfull, it is right next to the railway, and we couldn't sleep all night. The ony view you have is ither the carpark or the field near it. What most upseted us was the fact that on the day we departed, because of a misunderstanding we came back to check out later than we should have, so the owner of the motel took all our things out in the carpark, in the rain, telling us we should appreciate she didn't overcharge us. Honestly, i would prefer to pay an extra fee than finding my belongings out in the rain. I have travelled a lot and never in my lfe did this happen to us!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Firstly check out internationally is 10am approx not 3pm. We have our check out times stated in the office. all advertising and in each room/apartment. The travel agents voucher we received did not it state or ask for a late checkout. On arrival the representative of this group would not fill in our security registration form for our staff including phone contacts while in New Zealand. Because we were not given there direct phone contact we contacted their travel agent several times before we removed there luggage from the rooms. I explained the situation as we had guests waiting to check in at the office. We were advised by there travel agent to go ahead as they had contacted the group more than once for us. I will not be naming this agency but they were most helpful. We did have to put there luggage outside but it was covered. In normal situations it would have been put in the storage but not possible with such a large group. We also took advice from another motelier before doing so who informed us he would have charged them for the additional time in the motel as it is very costly to keep staff and other guests waiting.
All our location maps are standard government maps. Our motel is situated on over 3000sq metres of land with a garden setting and yes, we do have sea and mountain views from several apartment windows. The bare sections next door being referred to is over 4000sq metres so our motels are not surrounded by buildings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.1 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $81 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing