We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and cleanest place we stayed in NZ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral Court Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Best and cleanest place we stayed in NZ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and the owner gave very warm welcome and hospitality. We stayed in a studio unit for 3 adults.This motel is the cleanest place we stayed in NZ. The daily cleaning came as a surprise. Other motels we stayed in do not clean the room when its occupied. It is a little off the city centre but near to the seal colony viewing. It is quiet and well maintained. The room is big and comes with good kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    49
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The people that run the motel Carla and Steve are so friendly and helpful. Steve even wanted to make sure that I didn't go on a dodgy fishing trip by calling the guy. They had great suggestions of things to do in Kaikoura and always willing to help with booking tours. The room was clean, quite, and spacious. Very close to everything in this little village. Carla and Steve even cooked our crayfish for us. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rabbit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This proved to be a great place to stay. The owners could not have been more friendly or helpful. A lovely clean and tidy unit, spacious, bright and cheerful. At this end of town there was minimal noise from the street throughout the night, and the view of the snow-capped mountains made for a lovely start to the day. No negatives at all!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We selected it initially because it was very close to pub (food) - but the best part was this motel is well run , very clean, good size rooms , quite and very friendly owners. AND the gem next door we did not know about was the Green Dolphin restaurant. What more could you want. Of course - the view from motel room at dawn was one of the most striking - sea , peaks with snow right down to 500 meters. A classic view for free.
AND the nearby short walk south to the roadside outdoor FOOD CARAVAN ( half crayfish $22 great) and 1 km south the seal colony you have to see.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is a neat, clean and spacious Motel in a quiet part of town and the owners were friendly and welcoming. Décor and fittings are a little 1970's/1980's but the rooms were in good order and clean so the style really that doesn't matter. Unusually for Motels/Hotels we found around NZ it has free WiFi which is great when travelling. I have seen a number of reviews that criticised the lack of sea view. As far as I can see there are around 4 rooms that will not have a clear view of the sea (closer to the road when entering the property) while the remaining 4, maybe 5, slightly higher on the hill, have a view and we were luck enough to be in one of these units. But, as this is on a quiet road and the walk is less than 100 metres from the Motel to the beach which has stunning views of the bay and the hills beyond and so the lack of direct view is not a detractor from this motel at all. there are a couple of restaurants nearby but it is not a long walk back into town for a bigger selection of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The people who run it are very friendly and helpful, whenever we are in Kaikoura we will stay with them! Our rooms were very tidy and had lots of kitchen items, not just 3 cups, no 6 of them, everything is very clean like you are the first person to use that unit. (we had the 2 bedroom unit)
Great location too! Recommended to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hariette64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We actually stayed in one of the cheaper parts of the motel, because none others were available, but found it excellent. The owner is super friendly and helpful. He asked what we were interested in and gave us all the advice that we needed. He even offered to drive us to the start of the cliff top walk, with a 3 hour walk back to the motel. The room was very quiet, and had everything, parking outside the door, although we did not need wi-fi it was offered to us, free of charge. The whole atmosphere of the motel is friendly, right from the owner down. We were sorry that we had only left 2 days to stay in Kaikoura. We had our own car, and also walked into town along the beach-front, walked out to the seal colony, and the next day drove to the colony, left the car and walked most of the way on the cliff top walk, this is beautiful, and it would have been nice to have had the time to do the 3 hour walk. Highly recommend also that if the weather is fine, go on a half day trip with Kaikoura kayaks. The Pier Hotel is a 200m walk from the hotel, it has a terrific atmosphere with lots of old photos, showing a fair bit of the history of Kaikoura. The seafood basket we had was really nice and reasonably priced. Kaikoura is a lovely place and if we ever come back to New Zealand, we would gladly book into the Admiral Court for a week

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.0 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
113 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
1.4 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Court Motel

Property: Admiral Court Motel
Address: 16 Avoca Street, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Admiral Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Admiral Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing