We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barely OK”
Review of Robbie's Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Robbie's Bar & Bistro
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
KL
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“barely OK”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I walked over for a drink after checking into the motel nearby. Sadly, the staff were not at all chatty and did not say anything more than selling me a pint (this was the most unresponsive bar I have stepped into; there was not even a "where are you from/going to". After a very long day of driving, it could have made a difference.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KT785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    43
    20
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We came in during a busy time and were warned of the wait by a very nice waitstaff. The place was clean and tidy and not smelly some some bars can get. The gaming rooms were out of the way so that regular customers were not bothered by the noises.
When our meals came, they were presented well and were ery delicious. The children ordered from the kids menu which had more than just fried food! Lovely bangers and mash adn roast meals. Both kids ate everything on their plates with nothing but glee. My meal (Chefs Special) was perfectly cooked steak and lovely vegetables.
Good prices for a tourist town as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Food in Kaikoura.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stopped here for dinner on the way South. We enjoyed the food - good value. Nice pleasant staff. Good stop for a meal. Nice atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Boring food, good sevice though”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Its ok, we've eaten here a few times more out of necessity than choice as theyre open late and on the main road. We pass through Kaikoura weekly. Food is basic, but then again it is a bar and bistro. Lovely atmosphere and seating, nice open fire, good amount of TVs and it has pokies too. Good location on the main road. Would eat here again for basic meals but if you want something really nice then pick a dedicated restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Depends what you want”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I just wanted the $10 lunch and a glass of wine, both of which were reasonably good value. I don't expect a great deal of these chain Bar eateries, but the larger plates going to other diners looked pretty good. I met the chef later at a party, and he confirmed the fish of the day had been Blue Cod, and amongst other things asked me if I thought it was overcooked (answer , "No"). A large, nondescript bar serving ok food for travellers. Plenty of room for families, with high chairs for the very young.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbie's Bar & Bistro also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing