We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely farm stay”

Lavendyl Lavender Farm
Ranked #13 of 37 things to do in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely farm stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in the Dylan Cottages, and really had a lovely evening. The bedroom is upstairs from the rest of the cottage, which made the morning sunshine with all the animal noises (birds singing, lambs, sheep, and cows nearby) was the most glorious way to wake up.

The owner gave us lavender bath water for the bath, which I used and it was delightful. In fact, all of the products in the cottage are lavender! This might sound like it is overwhelming, but it's all subtle and really lovely product. There were homemade cookies, fresh fruit, and farm fresh eggs to greet us. And, in the morning, some freshly baked bread. It was so fresh, it was still hot!

No Tv, and the the Wifi was slow -- this was perfect for us as we really wanted a getaway.

We walked around the gardens, which looked like they were about to bloom any day, as we were there in spring. It smelled heavenly. And, the little lambs were adorable. All in all, a fabulous stay, and would highly recommend to anyone wanting to spend time in Kaikoura.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 852Jennyfromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    30
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“PERFECT!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We first stayed at Lavendyl 4 years ago in the Mahoe Cottage and have been coming back ever since for weekend getaways. This is the most serene, relaxing experience all set in the stunning picturesque gardens. Jan and Corry are incredibly hospitable and Corry makes the most beautiful baking, thank you! Every visit is perfect - thank you. We can't recommend Lavendyl and the Dylan Cottages enough.
Warm Regards
Kylie & Glen

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Good varieties of Lavender products”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were there at the wrong period therefore did not get to see any lavender blooming. You need to pay a fee to enter the garden. We took a peek from outside and decided not to enter since there is no lavender flowers blooming yet. Nevertheless, their shop have a good varieties of products.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lpypeiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two perfect days on the farm, it is an ideal base for the area being close to sea (whale watching at kaikoura), mountains (a brisk walk up mount Fyffe) and a lovely place to spend time. The accommodation is delightful and the grounds a joy to wander around.....so many plants to study. The lambs were fun and very vocal! We especially enjoyed the home baking...not good for the waistline though! We will be back soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Level Contributor
298 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great way to end the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The smell of the fresh lavender from the gardens is over powering. I could not count the many different types of lavender. The gardens are large, well maintained. To sit and breathe in the fragrance is relaxing as only lavender can do. $2 each - good bargain. Then you have many lavender products in the shop including lavender ice cream. The setting at the foot of the mountains coupled with the lVender - very Therapeutic!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavendyl Lavender Farm also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Lavendyl Lavender Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing