We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view, Great hosts, Awesome experience”
Review of Panorama Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panorama Motel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Stumbled on this place, after driving past originally booked (via internet) accommodation.

Attracted by location and tidy/secure appearance. Fantastic views which not all seaside motels in this area are privillaged to have, were also a key to us taking a closer look.

An inspection of a unit was recommended and quickly confirmed initial indicators that this was an understated gem. The self contained unit was in good repair, looked and felt clean and had plenty of room.

Very user friendly owners and great ambassadors for Kaikoura and the NZ Motel industry in general.

Highly recommended if you want to experience brilliant sea and mountain views in a comfortable and quiet (except for the sound of lapping waves from across the road) environment.

Oh... Did I mention the genuine hospitality and sound local knowledge of the owners?

Good stuff, well worth a look.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lightwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 180 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night in our three week trip in NZ. Good spot with good views (although the main road is between your room and the view). The room was simple and clean, with all the facilities necessary. The owners were friendly when we arrived and pointed us in the direction of a great restuarant that we would otherwise have missed (The Green Dolphin).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

This was a good start to our tour, a very clean, quiet and well equipped studio apartment.
A bit out of the town but only about 20 minutes flat easy walk and this means quiet nights and waking to a fantastic view. Everything was meticulously presented and sitting out on the balcony with a glass, sorry bottle, of wine was magic. The host recommended a couple of restaurants close by, one of which was excellent, the other was good but a bit pretentious. Kaikoura is a bit expensive ( whales ) so the 160 dollars for top floor was a little over our budget, but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteandmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

While this would be just another motel anywhere else its perfect location and fabulous views make it a winner. Our very clean top floor unit, with a well equipped kitchen and the very helpful owners meant we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdg5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We only stayed one night which was a pity, but feel we chose the best accommodation in this lovely little town.
Manageress was lovely, room exceptionally clean, bed comfortable and best of all the view took your breath away.
We stayed in a top floor unit, definitely the pick, you drive your car right up to the back door, so no lugging up stairs. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

This was our second night in Kaikoura. The first night we stayed somewhere newer. However, while Panorama was older the units had great views, they were warm with a wonderful quiet efficient heater, the beds were comfortable and the shower good. It was wonderfully quiet at night (away from the train and main road), the beach was opposite.
Very friendly hosts as well.
Its not an upmarket motel, but it was comfortable. There are newer motels nearby with all the latest and flashest - but they cost more. The Panorama even provided a lobster pot to cook our crayfish we caught on the days fishing.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Kaikoura is a very beautiful place, and the view from my balcony at the Panorama Motel made the trip half-way around the world worthwhile. At first, hauling my luggage a mile or so from the train station seemed like a mistake, but the walk was beautiful and I found I didn't mind it a bit.

At night, you can hear the waves lapping on the shore from your balcony, and the fact that you're a long way from town means there is quiet and darkness in the evening, which seems to me to be the ideal way to experience the peaceful beauty of Kaikoura. The room was fairly basic, but comfortable, with a nice little kitchenette. It's all about the view here, though, and the wall of glass on the ocean side of the room makes the most of it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingSusan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#14 of 20 in Kaikoura
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
415 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motel

Address: 266 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $127 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Panorama Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Kaikoura
Panorama Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing