We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to our holiday”
Review of Panorama Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panorama Motel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in New Zealand and whilst at Kaikoura stayed at he Panorama Motel. We had previously stayed there six years ago and found the present owners Gary and Pam to be most helpful and welcoming. They recommended places to visit and lovely places to eat. On leaving for Picton they told us not to miss the Food Factory and Fudge Company for breakfast, which was scrumptious and also The Shed for coffee. We wil be back!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinoluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 179 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

I am VERY surprised to see that a few reviews 'knocked' the Panorama Motel -- Are they speaking of the same one we stayed at for three days -- wish it had of been longer ! The owners and staff were wonderful to us and soooo accommodating. Our unit was on the bottom floor to the left of the office, I gather that this was the 'old' part, could of fooled us. Kitchen area was well stocked with everything we needed during our stay and the bathroom facalities and extra bedroom were wonderful. Having spent a month on the south island of New Zealand we had stayed at a variety of motels and in our experience there this was one of the best ! Everything was clean and everything worked ! As well the owners and staff were most helpful on the touristy things to do in Kaikoura. Even though we were on the bottom floor we had an exceptional water view and so easy to cross the QUIET street and spend time on the beachfront. Would recommend this ideal motel to anyone visiting Kaikoura, N/Z MAC AND CYNDY McINNES -- CANADA p.s. Loved the cat, poodle and talking bird ! ! !

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I was shocked to have read the 3 reviews below about the Panorama Motel, I found that
the owners and staff members are absolutely lovely, and did not hesitate with any info
about Kaikoura. I would not trust the judgment of what has been said. Also I would like
to point out that the Motel is not on the main road it is on the water front down a no exit
road leading to the seal colony; maybe they have the wrong motel.
I would highly recommend this motel to all. I have stayed here on a regular basis and always enjoy the fantastic views and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poodles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We enjoyed our 1 night stay here. The unit was all we expected and the price was good. Just outside the centre of the town and as such there was no traffic noise. The view over the Bay was outstanding. The Green Dolphin restaurant just a 4 minute walk away was a gem and the best we struck in a month South Island holiday. The Reception when we arrived was excellent and we were efficiently shown a choice of units. A good quality Motel, clean and tidy, in a perfect location, and very good staff.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

The room is not what we expected, considering the amount we paid and comparing it to other accomadation we stayed in around NZ. It was far overpriced I can say this because we were at the end of our holiday after spending 17 day. Firstly the shower was sooooo small and the curtain barely touched the floor which resulted in the bathroom flooding also there was no hair dryer or iron. I f I wanted to use the iron I had to walk 50 metres to the laundry. The lady at reception was not at all accommdating when we had a few questions regarding our booking she was dismissive and rude. On a positive the view was lovely but I suppose that is what we paid for and not the facilities or service.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimplesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I would not reccomend this property to anyone, after staying in Queenstown the accomodation is very basic and overpriced, more like a glorified cabin (view from the outside can be deceptive.) I had many problems with the landlady which i have previously attempted to publish on this site, but never gets printed.In short she was rude and to the extend of being threatening. I would advise the readers of this review to seriously rethink staying here ,there are many establisments along the stretch called the Espalanade with the same view, and i would bet that you would get treated better and have a better room.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pumpa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Lovely beach just in front of motel (just have to cross the road in front) but quite far away from city center. Walk to closest restaurants is at least 15-20 min., city center probably 30 min., beach is lovley esp. for walking. Motel okay, clean and quiet but at the end of town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tany24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.8 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#5 of 20 in Kaikoura
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Motel

Address: 266 Esplanade, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range: $117 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Panorama Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Kaikoura
Panorama Motel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing