We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Prices”
Review of The Whaler

The Whaler
Ranked #11 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent Prices”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

After checking out the menus in most of the eateries in Kaikoura we decided to try "The "Whaler".
The food was perfect and the staff were friendly. Compared to other places in Kaikoura the food prices were also what I consider to be normal. Some places seem to have overdone the costs as you would find in Queenstown. I recommend you try out the mussels and the ribs :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    130
    60
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Surprised by the good reviews!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a meal for 2 adults and 2 kids on a Tuesday night. Kids had chicken nuggets - very average, deep fried supermarket nuggets, I had the fish and chips - almost stone cold, soggy batter and hubby had the porterhouse - cheap and ok. Very expensive for very average food really. Girl who served us was very nice, no complaints, but the dragon who I can only assume was the duty manager was awful. Obnoxious and beyond rude. When we questioned the garlic sauce, she snapped rudely at us and stomped off. When I went to the bar to pay, she even went so far as to give me a dirty look. I think she seriously needs a holiday, some training, or both. Not a nice person at all to have customer facing. Would not go back because of her and the food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Sumptuous steak!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My family, two girls & my husband had dinner @ this restuarant. One daughter 8 particulary wanted prawns not to spicy. They whipped up a delicous plate of prawns with fresh side salad. We had the P/house steak with mash and garlic gravy & salad. Awsome! Compliments to the chef!
Meg CHCH

Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Lovely ambience - lively without being 'too much'. Good choice on menu. Meals very nice - In fact we ate here twice during a 4 day stay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal, and Monteiths Summer Ale on tap”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Seems like a popular venue with locals, and we only just managed to sneak onto a table. Really nice mussels and squid starters, followed by a deceptively filling Thai Beef Salad. Service was informal and friendly, and both the girls made time to chat to us and our two kids. Only low point was waiting an age for our desserts (due to the apple crumble), but again we enjoyed these and the bill was reasonable. Would definitely return.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank CantonasDouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whaler also viewed

 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing