We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unable to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Long Beach WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unable to sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This motel is located on the main highway where the speed limit drops. The traffic noise is terrible. We thought it would die down as the evening wore on, but the truck traffic never stops. As the speed limit changes right at the hotel, you hear the trucks downshifting and it feels like they are in the room with you. It might be better if you could close the windows, but we were there in the summer and there is no air conditioning so this was not an option. Clean room, but not a place to stay if you want a good nights sleep.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jholtermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusCooke, Owner at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. You're right about the windows. Once closed the noise goes away. Double glazed. I shall make a change to the compendium in the room to let our guests know that we have fans available if required. That would have suited your situation and would have made your night more agreeable. Unfortunately we live in a world where people don't take other people into consideration. I'm writing/phoning the trucking companies and complain but I seems to be falling on deaf ears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
58
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

It's a little bit out of town, but most guests will have a car so that shouldn't be a problem. Spacious and comfortable with a good breakfast. Recommended. Our satnav wasn't very helpful in locating the hotel - too many Beach Roads I think - so use a map instead!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good value in Kaikoura that is a smaller city. Limited Internet that was common in NZ. We would recommend this hotel as there are a limited number of hotels in Kaikoura. Nice kitchenette with a small refrigerator, but adequate for our own breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband & I spent one night here on our travels around the South Island. The room was a good size with kitchenette & large bathroom. It was clean, comfortable & seemed quite new. It was equipped with everything needed for a short stay. Free parking onsite right at your door & excellent free Wifi. We were in room 6 right next to the office. It was very quiet, we heard no road noise at all. The hotel is located right at the end of town, but we had a car so this was not an issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Lovely quiet, clean and spacious room! Friendly and helpful staff. What more could you ask for? Everything was provided with no fuss. The bathroom and kitchenette had everything you need for a short stay. Even free wifi was available throughout the motel area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debstagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stopped here during a big loop of the South Island. It's what you'd expect from a roadside motel although this model is quite a bit closer to the road than many of the other hotels we stayed during our trip. Price/value ratio is pretty good, you can park right in front of your room in American style. There is not a lot to remark about the room other than it's good for an overnight stop. Wifi worked pretty well. The owner was Dutch bit didn't seem to enjoy talking in his native language? It's a bit on the far end of Kaikoura but if you travel by car it's not a problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martijn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Comfort Inn just one night, during stop-over on our road trip between Queenstown and Wellington.

Yes, it is located very close to a main road, but we found Kaikoura very quiet and we're not bothered by any noise. As it's a very small town, it felt like there wasn't much to do; however there is a place to watch seals close by, lovely sea food BBQ very and a pond where you can feed the ducks and geese with any left over bread:-). I enjoyed my very short stay.

As per the hotel... I found the gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and informative. He had a good knowledge of Kaikoura's restaurants and most of the menus too. The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Free wifi is available and there is also a selection of free DVDs by the reception in case you don't find anything good to do outside of your room:-)

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
2.9 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura

Property: Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Address: 239 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing towards the magnificent Kaikoura Mountains our modern 4 star complex is the ideal stopover for your Kaikoura experience. Our 13 nonsmoking, double glazed self-contained units are tastefully decorated and provide the comforts required, while experiencing some of nature’s most exquisite adventures. Mediterranean Motel is also the first Geocaching motel in NZ offering Geocaching tours around the beautiful Kaikoura coast. The restaurants, town center and Kaikoura attractions are only 5 minutes’ drive away. Coming from the north, we are the first motel on the right, coming from the south, we are the last motel on the left. We look after our guests and your comfort, is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean Hotel Kaikoura
Kaikoura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing