We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed overnight and were impressed with our stay considering the low price. While being on the road there was very little noise in fact the noise we did hear came from the sea. The unit was immaculately clean and the shower had excellent pressure.
Thanks Gus and Larrisa for your hospitality. A great way to start our break.

Veronica & Bob

Room Tip: All the rooms were much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Nice little place just a minutes drive from town centre. The room was comfortable enough and the complimentary dvd service was a nice touch. Ours had a kitchenette with an electric stove but there were no pans or ladles. There was one sauce pan which was of not much help. Other than that, no complaints as such. The lady host was nice and friendly where as the other host (Gus I think) wasn't so smiling or approachable as such. Perhaps it was due to the long weekend and being busy but that's no excuse. On a day full of occupants, parking is a bit of circus due to limited moveable space, but its only a minor thing to note.Would look at going back here next time only if I didnt have any other option.

Room Tip: All of them are closely placed to each other. Any room you pick should be good enough :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akhil_Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for one night. It did the trick with a clean room and comfortable bed.
It wasn't really within walking distance of the main street but we had a car so it didn’t really matter.
If I was in Kaikoura for more than one night I would have probably stayed closer to the main street with restaurants etc. however for the night it did the trick.
The only thing that I wished they had was shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerby1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Kaikoura is such a special place where the accommodation play an important factor in the overall impression. Nothing to do with this hotel but I do think the service providers are starting to take the tourists for a ride - $5.50 for a flat white! This motel is at the border of the township. Quite close to the main road where there is some noise from the traffic but this was not a problem as the doors and windows are double glassed. Free Internet which is a great plus! I was a little taken back during check-in as the host presented a nice and impressive burp (and not apologising). Possibly a little over priced but all in all the place was comfortable, clean and nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knutus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked this Motel online the day before arriving there. We were only staying for one night as the purpose of our trip to Kaikoura was to see the Albatross birds. The motel wasn't quite in the location we expected.It was further out of the town than we anticipated. It was okay though. It is appropriately priced. Unfortunately the walls were paper thin and we could hear everyone else. The motel is also on a bend on the main road and so you hear the trucks and other traffic all the time. The owner and his cat were very nice. I wouldn't stay there again, but if you are on a tight budget and can sleep though anything, it's fine for one night.

Room Tip: There isn't a restaurant or fitness centre.Sorry, I hit the buttons and couldn't go back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belindabigsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My partner & I stayed for one night over the Easter weekend. Check in was quick and easy, our room was right next to reception, there was lots of people coming & going & children running in and out but didn't bother us too much but may bother others. The room was clean & tidy except for some of the previous guests rubbish not removed from under the bench. Was a nice walk to the local New World Supermarket but is a wee bit further into town centre so we took the car. The road was busy during the day but didn't hear a thing at night so had a great sleep. Would stay again & recommend to others for an overnight visit but would not stay for longer. Pleased to hear the toiletries are being replaced as is unusual not to have shampoo, shower caps or soap in the shower but luckily we had our own.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GusCooke, Owner at Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies about the oversight regarding rubbish left behind under the kitchen bench. Although we are in the process of upgrading the dispensers in the bathrooms, the current dispensers in the shower cubicles contain shampoo/bodysoap and the dispensers above the handbasin contain handsoap.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our room was clean and spacious enough for the two of us. It could use a little updating but was comfortable for two days and the price we paid was more than fair. The motel is on the highway so trucks providers wake up call each morning. The reception was friendly and we felt welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ojichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
369 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
Heritage Court Motor Lodge
#12 of 20 in Kaikoura
121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura

Address: 239 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range: $98 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing towards the magnificent Kaikoura Mountains our modern 4 star complex is the ideal stopover for your Kaikoura experience. Our 13 nonsmoking, double glazed self-contained units are tastefully decorated and provide the comforts required, while experiencing some of nature’s most exquisite adventures. Mediterranean Motel is also the first Geocaching motel in NZ offering Geocaching tours around the beautiful Kaikoura coast. The restaurants, town center and Kaikoura attractions are only 5 minutes’ drive away. Coming from the north, we are the first motel on the right, coming from the south, we are the last motel on the left. We look after our guests and your comfort, is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean Hotel Kaikoura
Kaikoura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing