We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfy and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfy and Welcoming”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here in November 2009 whilst on honeymoon. We stayed 2 nights in Kaikoura to go whale-watching. Having not done the research on the area, and due to budget constraints we booked this hotel via Austravel. The main downside is that this hotel is a fair distance from the centre of the town in comparison to other hotels in the area. Beach Road is actually State Highway 1, the main road in the area! That said, the room was spacious, clean, comfortable with heating and electric blankets. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The centre is reachable by the Kaikoura shuttle service (usually arrived within 5 minutes of calling). If you're fit enough, you could take the long walk. Whilst the accommodation was lacking some of the luxuries of places such as Waves On The Esplanade, it served its purpose. As my headline says, it was clean, comfortable and we were made to feel very welcome. I have certainly stayed in places much worse than here.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1DAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
12
58
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our usual perference the Bella Vista motel was full ( must learn to book ahead! ) so we stopped down the road at the Mediterranean. We took two units. Both were tidy but we missed the exra little things and that special new ness that we have become used to. The view of the mountains is very dramatic considering how close to the see Kaikoura is. The motel is out of the town centre but it was a nice morning walk down to the shops and beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jules J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I was in Kaikoura for one day to go whale watching. Everything was perfect and I particularly enjoyed receiving a bottle of milk for my tea. Room is fresh, clean and with the heater and the electric blankets you are sure to be warm if it gets too cold. Internet is available but remember to ask for the password when you check in .... It is on the bend of the highway but even the odd truck going through during the night didn't bother me (but might if someone wants absolute silence) and it is not walking distance of the atractions and the town centre ... but then this isn't a place for backpackers but for anyone with a car visiting the country. And I must say New Zealand is a fantastic country to visit. I will be back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank DPS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Perfectly clean and spacious, but very old and tired. Staff largely disinterested. Located on a busy road a fair way out from town (too far to walk to town or to local eateries).
The kind of place you only stay a night if you need to, passing through.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We decided to stay one night at the Comfort Inn on our way thru Kaikoura. The rooms are very clean and in great condition. There is a fully equipped kitchen and on demand movies. We only paid $2.00 USD for internet access--which was great value.

The inn is located off the highway as you enter Kaikoura. It was very quiet and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Quality of the room, value and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2006

For a motel out of the town centre this offered us immaculately clean rooms and bathroom with super, modern kitchen facilites. Very good value for a two night stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2005

Photos imply great views. Other than the garbage cans and SR1, we had no view. Hotel refused to supply breakfast which came with our booking, and would not honour the company guarantee. Considering it was only $8 less than the Intercontinental in Wellington, it is very poor value

Helpful?
7 Thank kmwglw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.2 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
2.7 mi away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#13 of 20 in Kaikoura
110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
94 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
2.0 mi away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura

Property: Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Address: 239 Beach Road, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing towards the magnificent Kaikoura Mountains our modern 4 star complex is the ideal stopover for your Kaikoura experience. Our 13 nonsmoking, double glazed self-contained units are tastefully decorated and provide the comforts required, while experiencing some of nature’s most exquisite adventures. Mediterranean Motel is also the first Geocaching motel in NZ offering Geocaching tours around the beautiful Kaikoura coast. The restaurants, town center and Kaikoura attractions are only 5 minutes’ drive away. Coming from the north, we are the first motel on the right, coming from the south, we are the last motel on the left. We look after our guests and your comfort, is our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kaikoura Mediterranean Hotel Kaikoura
Kaikoura Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing