We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful waterfront!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaikoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Absolute Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Felpham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful waterfront!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We only stayed one night in October en route to Nelson from Christchurch. I had made a mistake with the date and so we turned up 5 days early!! Fortunately, Rose had our apartment sorted and could not have been kinder or more welcoming.
There had been snow the previous day and everywhere looked absolutely stunning.
We had been to Kaikoura in the summer a few years ago, but South Bay is much more peaceful and beautiful - especially in late winter. We wish you could have stayed longer to do some of the lovely walks.
Thank you again, Rose!

Room Tip: The water view apartment is well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary A, Owner at Absolute Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, I hope you do get a chance to visit again in the future you will be very welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife & I spent three nights at Rose & Woodys fabulous getaway. We have had the great pleasure of staying there before & know that even a few days with them will re-charge our batteries with marvellous memories.
The accommodation is superbly comfortable in an idyllic setting that allows one to just laze or wander the hills & bays breathing the clear air only found in that part of our wonderful country. Many thanks Rose for the spotless unit & thank you Woody for "letting" me help you "haul 'em aboard". We WILL be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary A, Owner at Absolute Waterfront, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us it is really appreciated especially at such a busy time of the year, have a great Christmas and we will look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had 2 nights at this accommodation. Spotlessly clean and all the equipment to self cater is available. Area is stunning, could not fault it. Overcome my fear of boats and water thanks to Woody! Rose is a font of knowledge about the area. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Stay in the waterfront unit, it has a beautiful view. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary A, Owner at Absolute Waterfront, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and it's great to know you really enjoyed your stay, and of course you are very welcome to come again. Hope you enjoyed the boating in the Marlborough sounds as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We found it by chance and we couldn't have been luckier. Excellent location, in a typical authentic environment. Lovely decorated, charming, welcoming, relaxed, VERY clean... no words, a place to go and enjoy it. Owners extremely friendly. We had a great stay, we fell in love with it. Totally recommendable

Room Tip: you can choose any of the options with your eyes closed, you will always be right
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rut Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary A, Owner at Absolute Waterfront, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you both very much for staying with us here in South Bay and your wonderful review
Hope you enjoy the football match on Wednesday will be keeping an eye on the results in future
Go Spain
Go mexico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed at these lovely spotless apartments several times and each time I have not been disappointed, if you are after impeccably clean accommodation,fantastic sea views,breathtaking walks and away from the hustle and bustle then stay with at the waterfront .
Rose and Woody couldn't do enough for us, we even used their kayaks to visit the seals, had breakfast on the beach,did the walks and cooked our fish on the BBQ.

Room Tip: choose the unit at the front as it has the sea at your doorstep and you can watch the fishermen go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemary A, Owner at Absolute Waterfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Hi Carol and thank you for taking time to write such a positive review for us, we are glad you and Shawn enjoyed your stay here, we also enjoyed spending the time chatting to you,
Shanghai is a long way from Kaikoura however if you ever find yourselves back this way you would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in the Waterfront apartment. It was wonderful. We could sit outside on the little patio and watch the birds, the sea and locals launching their fishing boats. There were mountains behind and sea in front, just beautiful. It was a little away from the busier Kaikoura town, but only a couple of minutes drive to find a restaurant. Our apartment was light, bright, clean and had all we needed. In the hall between the bedroom and living area we even had our own laundry facilities, washer and dryer. Rose was very chatty and friendly telling us all about the area.
We only stayed one night and went whale watching, but would certainly advise at least two nights to do this lovely place justice.

Room Tip: Waterfront apartment certainly has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our family stayed one night Absolute Waterfront, utilising both the one bedroom (sleeps four) and studio (sleeps two) apartments. It is an 'absolute waterfront' location, with the foreshore directly across the road. Great views! The apartments were both very clean and tidy, with everything we needed. Rose was very friendly and helpful, making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Fantastic coastal walks are right on the doorstep. The cafes and restaurants of Kaikoura are a short car or taxi/shuttle journey away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasMelW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
1.1 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.0 mi away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#4 of 20 in Kaikoura
337 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kaikoura Apartments
Kaikoura Apartments
#6 of 20 in Kaikoura
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
The Hampton's Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Absolute Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Absolute Waterfront

Property: Absolute Waterfront
Address: 9 Kaka Road | South Bay, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two self catering units (please note not B&B) in popular South Bay Kaikoura, looking out over the Bay with sea views The Waterfront has a queen bed in a separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge which will sleep a third person. The Waterside has a queen bed only and has a more limited sea view, however is still only 75mtrs from the foreshore. All amenities and well equipped kitchens to prepare simple meals, a good selection of tea/coffee etc is provided, warm clean and very comfortable accommodation at a very good price, a lovely location with always a changing land and seascape, walking tracks close by and only 5 mins by car to town centre if you prefer to drive. kayaks available at no extra charge for you to to use. you are always assured of a warm welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing