We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right time to come to Kaikoura” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohau Stream Walk

Ohau Stream Walk
Ranked #1 of 37 things to do in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Right time to come to Kaikoura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were lucky to come to NZ in winter, otherwise we would miss this fantastic attraction. The information sign at the beginning of Ohau Stream Walk says that the seal pups reach maturity in Spring so in September there would be no pups at all. We saw about a dozen and they were very cute and full of fun. The best moments of our short trip to the South Island!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    210
    71
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Feel good moment.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I challenge anyone to spend a few minutes watching the seal babies playing and not come away with a big smile on their face!
They are just so darn cute :)
It's a privilege to be able to visit them.

Helpful?
Thank RaeJae23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We took the short walk to the waterfall where the seal pups spend there time and it didn't disappoint! We saw about 25 seal pups swimming around under the waterfall, and some that were sleeping on the rocks. They're so fun to watch. This is a great activity for everyone, especially kids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best sightings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

That was definitely the best thing I did on the Southern island - the pups were already grown a bit and the parents off to sea so the little ones enjoyed themselves in the pool playing. It was a great experience and the walk is short and not very hard. So go there if you want to see fur seals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EMellmydear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very cool short visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

A cool stop off on our way up the coast. The short work is worth it to see the seal pups swimming in the water and playing about. Some of them were sleeping near by and looked cute. Some we're playing further down the walk also so keep an eye out on the way up and down

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank k8mackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohau Stream Walk also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ohau Stream Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing