We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
41
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2015

We found this place by accident and what a happy accident. We camped in our caravan and enjoyed using the kitchen and bbq for our dinner. Nice view of the hills and the deer on the hillside behind us. The following morning one sheep strolled through the campsite. Lots of hot water for showers in a sparkling facility. Would highly recommend this spot for camping.

Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
1  Thank ktc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2015

Looking for a quiet place in a lovely countryside near Kaikoura, we've found this wonderful lodge and spontaneously decided to stay longer than planned. Joyce and Ross are very friendly and helpful hosts, they make it really easy to feel like home. The room was comfortable and spacious and the lounge is really cosy like a living room at home. In addition with the great view, the nice countryside and the quiet area, it's a perfect place to relax, about 20km from Kaikoura. Having an own car, it's definitely worth to stay here. Fridge in the private room and well equipped kitchen in the lounge as well as barbecue are available and offer all possibilities for self cooking. Free WiFi. Campsite also available.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2014

Great place with fantastic views, a real farm lifestyle, little cow follows you around in the yards, deer right beside your camp, and all the animals a farm has to offer, thanks Ross and joy you are such lovely people, you made our stay such a fantastic one. To the rest of you, a must to doo, you will love it

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dstots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2014

Although we only stayed there for 1 night, we had a very warm welcome from Joy and the lodge environment and view are splendid! We enjoyed socialising with their cows and sheep, and Joy's cat!! The room includes pretty much everything you need, free wifi, Sky TV, stereo, alarm clock, hairdryer, fridge, electric blanket, coffee and tea, spa bathtub, heater, you name it! The included continental breakfast was fabulous! Joy prepared all the cereal, bread with all spreads, juice, milk, yogurt, fruits, water for us the night before, so we could enjoy our breakfast on bed the next morning. Oh, did I mention I love the homemade ice cream? At night, Joy brought us some homemade ice cream with mango and some organic eggs to take home!! You will never get this in a 5 star hotel! Overall, it was a luxury experience with reasonable price! We will definitely go back again! A place not to be missed!

Patrick and Nicole

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which is just next to the living room and kitchen
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank patlorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

It's over a month since my husband and I had a night at Waikene Lodge and the memories are precious... wonderful hospitality from the moment we drove in, outstanding views, an evening relaxing in the Lodge in front of the fire listening to music ;returning to breakfast the following morning with more music playing, the fire lit and table set to see the picturesque view of the mountain range that can be seen from all over the property. There is everything you need here for a restful and soul nourishing break. It's got to be Kaikoura's best kept secret. Thanks Joy for making us feel so welcome. One night is just too short!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 265rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews