We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
41
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 42 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

An anniversary treat. Beautiful accomodation in tranquil location. Very clean, comfortable room with tea and coffee making facility, sky TV and spa bath. Lovely view across pristine lawn to farmland and snow-capped mountains. Luxurious lounge with huge open fire, music system and well equipped kitchen. Good breakfast provided with full selection of teas and coffee. There are good, mapped walks around the property (5,500 acres). We walked for 5 hours across farmland up to a self-contained hut where we had a hot brew and back through forest and multiple stream crossings (good boots advised). It was great!!! The hosts, Joy and Ross are lovely and will help with anything. Waikene is about 20 mins from Kaikoura so better to plan to be self-catering. We will be back! Gill & Steve, Christchurch

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gilli100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived after dark and found Waikene Lodge at the end of Scotts Road. We were met by Ross and Joy and were shown the lodges’ facilities by Joy and then left to relax for the evening. When we woke in the morning we were treated to a spectacular sunrise and view of the snow-capped mountains, with native birdsong as a morning chorus. Waikene Lodge is a great place to relax and re-charge your batteries. We spent 2 nights here and could have spent much longer. The rooms are spacious and spotless with Sky TV if you want it. The communal lounge with its large log fire is perfect to relax in to enjoy a glass of wine and a good book. Evening meals are no longer an option but you have the use of a fully equipped kitchen. The continental breakfast and percolated coffee was wonderful. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful picturesque surroundings, fantastic host, amazing rooms with spectacular views, peace quiet and tranquility....a fantastic stay, if we had know it was going to be this good we would have booked for longer! Ive stayed in many hotels and lodges around NZ and this is by far one of the best, not to be missed :) Dan and Aimee (Manchester UK).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyboy78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here to break up our journey travelling south. Unfortunately we hadn't realised it was as far out of Kaikoura as it was. (about 20km - our fault for not double checking) However, this place is gorgeous. The fittings, the ambiance and the location are just fabulous. The view from the rooms is beautiful. If we'd realised where it was before we arrived we would have filled up with petrol in Kaikoura before we progressed there as we then had to travel back to Kaikoura to fill up before proceeding south. (We ended up almost passing the lodge on our way as we were advised to take the Inland Kaikoura Road rather than the coast as it was much more scenic). If the weather is good this is a wonderful drive through the mountains.
We had an excellent nights sleep and a very filling continental breakfast. Our hosts were lovely and I got to see the calves being fed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A great place for all ages! We were made to feel very relaxed and at home,the manager Joy goes that extra mile to make sure of this. We had portacot,buggy,walker and toys provided which was a lovely surprise. It was so lovely and hot,we even got to sunbathe We will be sure to go back with mountain bikes, friends and family.definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews