We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
41
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 42 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Beautiful picturesque surroundings, fantastic host, amazing rooms with spectacular views, peace quiet and tranquility....a fantastic stay, if we had know it was going to be this good we would have booked for longer! Ive stayed in many hotels and lodges around NZ and this is by far one of the best, not to be missed :) Dan and Aimee (Manchester UK).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannyboy78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here to break up our journey travelling south. Unfortunately we hadn't realised it was as far out of Kaikoura as it was. (about 20km - our fault for not double checking) However, this place is gorgeous. The fittings, the ambiance and the location are just fabulous. The view from the rooms is beautiful. If we'd realised where it was before we arrived we would have filled up with petrol in Kaikoura before we progressed there as we then had to travel back to Kaikoura to fill up before proceeding south. (We ended up almost passing the lodge on our way as we were advised to take the Inland Kaikoura Road rather than the coast as it was much more scenic). If the weather is good this is a wonderful drive through the mountains.
We had an excellent nights sleep and a very filling continental breakfast. Our hosts were lovely and I got to see the calves being fed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A great place for all ages! We were made to feel very relaxed and at home,the manager Joy goes that extra mile to make sure of this. We had portacot,buggy,walker and toys provided which was a lovely surprise. It was so lovely and hot,we even got to sunbathe We will be sure to go back with mountain bikes, friends and family.definately worth the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Took the inlaws for a night away.You could not ask for a nicer place to stay and be looked after.We struck a beautiful night to enjoy the magnificent surroundings,although it wouldve been just as enjoyable if the weather was horrible and we spent the evening by the fire.Cant fault anything and can only reccomend to anyone looking for a fantastic escape.Only downside was we didnt book for two nights.The time went to quickly,but alas we shall return.A big thank you to Joy on making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the kind of place that you want to be snowed in for a few nights over Winter. The lodge is perfectly sited and captures the exceptional view of the Kaikoura's across the valley.

It’s well signposted and is about 5 minutes’ drive from the highway up a metalled road.

The room was thoughtfully equipped with tasteful amenities, the fittings and furnishings were of a very high standard. Absolutely loved the spa bath in the room, the bathroom also has a shower cubicle with surprisingly powerful water pressure. All the standard items were available (hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries, Wi-Fi, TV, etc.), the common area is around the picturesque fireplace, dining tables and bar.

Continental breakfast was an unexpected surprise, one that was taken on the deck.

Joy was very friendly and accommodating, recommend that you stay longer than 1 night and perhaps take a book and bottle of wine for when you relax outside and watch the sun paint the hills different shades as it sets.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews