We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
41
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 42 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A great place for all ages! We were made to feel very relaxed and at home,the manager Joy goes that extra mile to make sure of this. We had portacot,buggy,walker and toys provided which was a lovely surprise. It was so lovely and hot,we even got to sunbathe We will be sure to go back with mountain bikes, friends and family.definately worth the trip.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Took the inlaws for a night away.You could not ask for a nicer place to stay and be looked after.We struck a beautiful night to enjoy the magnificent surroundings,although it wouldve been just as enjoyable if the weather was horrible and we spent the evening by the fire.Cant fault anything and can only reccomend to anyone looking for a fantastic escape.Only downside was we didnt book for two nights.The time went to quickly,but alas we shall return.A big thank you to Joy on making us feel so welcome.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is the kind of place that you want to be snowed in for a few nights over Winter. The lodge is perfectly sited and captures the exceptional view of the Kaikoura's across the valley.

It’s well signposted and is about 5 minutes’ drive from the highway up a metalled road.

The room was thoughtfully equipped with tasteful amenities, the fittings and furnishings were of a very high standard. Absolutely loved the spa bath in the room, the bathroom also has a shower cubicle with surprisingly powerful water pressure. All the standard items were available (hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, toiletries, Wi-Fi, TV, etc.), the common area is around the picturesque fireplace, dining tables and bar.

Continental breakfast was an unexpected surprise, one that was taken on the deck.

Joy was very friendly and accommodating, recommend that you stay longer than 1 night and perhaps take a book and bottle of wine for when you relax outside and watch the sun paint the hills different shades as it sets.

Date of stay: November 2012
Thank flyingdutchdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A booked the lodge on Grabone so wasnt sure what to expect, but it far exeeded our expectations in every way. From the "little touches' in the room (fresh flowers, welcome notes) to the lovely big bed and great furnishings, the lodge was everything we could want. The views and surroundings are magnificent, and Joy was the perfect hostess. We so enjoyed our time, and hope to see Joy again soon.
The trip up fromthe main road is furtherer than we thought (20-25km) so dont expect to get there too soon.

Room tip: All of the rooms are great, but you may be best with 1 or 4 as they arre furtherest from the lounge area
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived with the last of the spring light disapearing behind the hills. We were met by Joy who had just set the magnificent fire alight, it provided the perfect way to relax after the drive down. The lodge has everything you need to make yourself comfortable & your room has a great view to wake up to in the morning. Breakfast was good & set us up for the day. Our stay was too short & return visit to head into the hills is definitely something for the future.

Room tip: Any of the rooms would provide a great experience.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews