We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
41
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived with the last of the spring light disapearing behind the hills. We were met by Joy who had just set the magnificent fire alight, it provided the perfect way to relax after the drive down. The lodge has everything you need to make yourself comfortable & your room has a great view to wake up to in the morning. Breakfast was good & set us up for the day. Our stay was too short & return visit to head into the hills is definitely something for the future.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would provide a great experience.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A beautiful lodge tucked away from the hustle and bustle. The scenery and idyllic surroundings were beautiful. Warm fire, great breakfasts, home cooked dinner and great company. The rooms were immaculate and tastefully decorated. Plenty of walks to do or just chill out. Our host Joy made us feel very welcome and gave us lots of laughs. This a place that would be equally inviting at any time of the year. A place for all seasons.

Room Tip: Our room had a spa bath.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This farm and Lodge are "a place to live for". From the first time we saw it to the moment we most reluctantly drove off, our time was like NZ of our youth........beautiful and dreamlike.
Joy and Ross gave us an experience we are proud to write about. Time stood still while we walked about the homestead, browsed the old working buildings of a bygone working farm era, and hiked the peaceful and most scenic tracks.
If you want a stay in real quality surroundings, be treated like a friend, and space to "hideaway" then Waikene Lodge is the place. Take a breath of fresh air and SIMPLY GO FOR IT!

Room Tip: All the lodge rooms are Grand
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. Joy is a wonderful host and we were warmly welcomed. The rooms and the lodge were immaculate and we enjoyed relaxing in front of the roaring log fire and taking in the mountain vista. The setting is idyllic and next time we will probably camp (the campsite has power and ablution facilities) and explore the walks in the hills. Our girls loved all the animals on the farm too. This is a beautifully maintained property and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixonFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A quiet oasis in a beautiful location about twenty minutes drive inland from kaikoura. A very well presented lodge with a very warm welcome from Joy. A great place to unwind and get away from it all. Would love to return to spend more time chilling out and enjoying the surrounding valley and hills.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdersP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews