We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
41
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This farm and Lodge are "a place to live for". From the first time we saw it to the moment we most reluctantly drove off, our time was like NZ of our youth........beautiful and dreamlike.
Joy and Ross gave us an experience we are proud to write about. Time stood still while we walked about the homestead, browsed the old working buildings of a bygone working farm era, and hiked the peaceful and most scenic tracks.
If you want a stay in real quality surroundings, be treated like a friend, and space to "hideaway" then Waikene Lodge is the place. Take a breath of fresh air and SIMPLY GO FOR IT!

Room Tip: All the lodge rooms are Grand
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank BevanjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish we could have stayed longer. Joy is a wonderful host and we were warmly welcomed. The rooms and the lodge were immaculate and we enjoyed relaxing in front of the roaring log fire and taking in the mountain vista. The setting is idyllic and next time we will probably camp (the campsite has power and ablution facilities) and explore the walks in the hills. Our girls loved all the animals on the farm too. This is a beautifully maintained property and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixonFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

A quiet oasis in a beautiful location about twenty minutes drive inland from kaikoura. A very well presented lodge with a very warm welcome from Joy. A great place to unwind and get away from it all. Would love to return to spend more time chilling out and enjoying the surrounding valley and hills.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdersP16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I made a last minute reservation in June right after a snow storm. Joy, the manager, was gracious enough to accommodate us and cook a wonderful 3 course dinner. The Lodge is 20 minutes from Kaikoura and good for hiking, reading, taking photos. The fireplace was welcoming and Joy made sure everything was fine for us. The breakfast was fruit, yogurt, cereals, toast, jams, juice and coffee/tea. There is a small refrigerator in the room as well as coffee/tea maker. Lovely grounds and modern furnishings. We had a wonderful stay. Thank you, Joy!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newworldtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in one of the two cabins, and we were the only guests. The cabins, the camp sites, and the kitchen all looked out over a gorgeous, sweeping and bucolic valley of ranches, horse properties, and the like. We were free to walk across the fields. My wife appreciated that, despite the proximity of sheep and cows, the cabin admitted no sounds (or drafts). We had been horrified by the cramped nature of our only camping experience at a holiday park in New Zealand, so we really appreciated the solitude and expansiveness of Waikene. The drive to Kaikoura took about 20 minutes.

The bathrooms and kitchen were quite clean, and everything, including the hot water, worked. We had use of a microwave, refrigerator, dishes, barbecue grill, and tables, including one sealed off from the biting flies.

The friendly managers did not force us out at 10 AM.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews