We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Siam Kaikoura

Thai Siam Kaikoura
Ranked #14 of 57 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Intially I was a little taken aback by the price as it was on the upside of what I like to pay for Thai, but once I had my meal (chicken thai green curry and rice) I was quite satisfied! Delicious food and very pleasant service with leftovers for lunch on the road the next day. If you like good thai food this is the place to go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    95
    35
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had one of our priciest meals at South Island here and the food was truly just average. We had a Seafood Tom Yum soup and Green Curry which were both middling and lacked all the necessary flavors necessary to make them even close to authentic. The Tom Yum was just simply sour with no depth of flavour, and the Green Curry had too much coconut milk. Truly disappointing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

I had the Panang Curry with beef. It was some of the best I've had. I ordered "spicey" and it was good but could have been a little hotter. My wife had Pud Thai (their spelling) and thought is was very good. Both portions were generous.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bhendee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best thai ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

This restaurant had the most amazing thai food! the food was filled with flavour and is literally the best thai food i have ever had. The service was exceptional, with one of the most friendly and enthusiastic waitresses I have met.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 691TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went for a Thai meal, the waitresses were lovely, so helpful and welcoming. The food was excellent and in a great location

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Siam Kaikoura also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Siam Kaikoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing