We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD FOOD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Encounter

Cafe Encounter
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe open 0700 to 1700 does breakfasts, lunches afternoon teas. Phone 033196777
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Encounter Cafe was great. We had breakfast there in the morning. Yummy croissants and chocolate swirl cheesecake. The flat white and the mochaccino were both outstanding. Very friendly staff. Free wifi with purchase.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa27Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review, we really appreciate it! So glad that you enjoyed your visiti to us! The chocolate swirl cheesecake is one of my favourites too! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    114
    31
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Magnificent location opposite the sea front, open air seating if you desire, really good service. What really caps this place off though is the selection and quality of food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianTaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are spoilt here in this wonderful location aren't we! We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and do hope we can welcome you back someday! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Qld
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had breakfast here and sat outside in the sun and had the added bonus of a dolphin show as they were leaping from the water straight across the road. The service was good and there was wi-fi supplied to a certain value with our meals.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jalaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for posting your review we appreciate it and what a treat to see dolphins whilst you dined! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fabulous place - best coffee in Sth Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

wow this place is amazing! The views to the beach were fab. the views to the mountains were amazing and the coffee here unmatchable in the sth island and definately in kaikoura!!! they come with little heart chocolates which is lovely and the fluffies are brilliant with a chocolate covered spoon. got a kids area outside and inside a box of kids toys....a busy hub of activity. the counter food was lovely too and a great price. WOW just go!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ForestNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for your review you have totally made our day! Big smiles all round here! :-)
We work really hard to ensure we deliver good coffee and we're thrilled you appreciated yours. We love welcoming families, visitors, and locals and thrive on having a buzz about the place! We would love to welcome you back next time you head South! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Yummy coffee & great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Like most places in NZ, Encounter does great coffees and tasty food. You can sit outside in the sunshine and watch the waves crashing ashore

They also have a stuffed Albatross inside which, unfortunately, is the only one I saw whilst in Kaikoura!!

Perfect for a coffee/ casual lunch...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richardsonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi there and thanks for your review.
We are so spolit here with our lovely view - we are so glad you appreciated it whilst you were here and enjoyed your visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Encounter also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing