We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Encounter

Cafe Encounter
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe open 0700 to 1700 does breakfasts, lunches afternoon teas. Phone 033196777
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Delicious food in lovely decorated cafe, very friendly staff. Great breakfasts and lunches. Good, if you are doing the dolphin encounter or just on its own

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Christine just a quick note to thank you allbeit a little belatedly for your review - thrilled that you enjoyed dining with us on your visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    115
    30
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good way to start the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

good food, good coffee, great view.
a perfect way to round off your dolphin encounter before starting the day! customers from the swim get 10% off drinks, as well as merchandise from the store (:

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so much for your review Ben. I love the eggs bene too and your photograph has made me hungry! ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, null, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Always great food and good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Dine here for lunch or a snack whenever I can, would recommend it to my friends, well worth the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi Linda thanks so much for your review! We're always pleased to welcome you back when you come in....your friends too! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Broccolli Salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fresh salad in a town that sold chips with almost everything. Such a treat. The scrambled eggs were great also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your review June. We do try to maintain a varied choice on our menu and we're pleased to read you enjoyed the salad! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not sure what its all about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

food did not look fresh, too industrial. They are too much linked to their boating trips. would not eat there as better places abundant in the village. Positive: veru limited free access to the net. New zealand seems behind on that part of services

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveller547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Encounter also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing