We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmm Broccolli Salad”
Review of Cafe Encounter

Cafe Encounter
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ocean view cafe with a varied breakfast and lunch offerring, with GF and vegetarian options available. Great coffee and a varied selection of teas. Wide selection of cold drinks, juices and delicious smoothies! Fresh produce and daily fresh baking.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Fresh salad in a town that sold chips with almost everything. Such a treat. The scrambled eggs were great also.

Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for your review June. We do try to maintain a varied choice on our menu and we're pleased to read you enjoyed the salad! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 273 of 357 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

food did not look fresh, too industrial. They are too much linked to their boating trips. would not eat there as better places abundant in the village. Positive: veru limited free access to the net. New zealand seems behind on that part of services

Thank frequentraveller547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been here often over the years. Always great range of food, including some gluten free. Good service. Opportunity to shop for locally made articles.

Thank suemissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. Fantastic to read that you have been a regular visitor to our cafe, gallery and shop for sometime now! We love that and very much appreciate your repeat custom! We look foward to welcoming you again next time! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good food choice. Fast service. Clean toilets. Good location. Went at least 3 times for coffee/food and internet.

Thank stoym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review! Great to read you enjoyed your visits to us and we really appreciate your repeat custom! Hope we can welcome you again someday! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I ate here recently with my partner and while the service was fine the food was disappointing. I had the potato, bacon and fennel soup for $11.50 and had to ask the waitress if it was made on the premises or if it was tinned. It was bland and over-processed with that tinned taste. She returned from the kitchen to say it was made on the premises but I make my own soups and have my doubts - I still think we overpaid for a tin of Campbell's. My partner had wedges which were okay, and a sandwich from under the counter which was nice. There is a good range of foods under the counter such as sandwiches, pies etc and the coffee I had was perfectly fine. I wouldn't return though as there are better places to eat a short drive away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kyleesmilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Oh no! We were so sorry to read your review that's the last thing we want to hear! :-(
We do wish you had made your disatisfaction known to us at the time when you asked about the soup and we would have replaced your meal with an alternative and refunded you.
Our waitress was correct in that we do prepare all our food in the kitchen here so it certainly wasn't tinned. We appreciate your feedback though and will review our recipe for this one!
We do pride ourselves on providing simple good quality fare so it's good to read that the rest of your order was nice.
We do hope you give us another try sometime and if you make yourself known to us when you do we will be happy to action that refund for you!
Best Regards & Happy New Year! Helene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Encounter also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing