We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At Dolphin Encounter”
Review of Cafe Encounter

Cafe Encounter
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Cafe open 0700 to 1700 does breakfasts, lunches afternoon teas. Phone 033196777
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At Dolphin Encounter”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ate there after the dolphin swim, which was fantastic. Couldn't rate that highly enough as had good group of dolphins very interested in us. We had to leave them in the end! The food in the cafe was very good, reasonably priced and a fair selection

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi there thanks so much for taking the time to make a review we love hearing that people have had a great time with us, and enjoyed our cafe fare as well as one of our great tours! :-) Hope we see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    119
    31
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm drink”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

For a Norwegian who is in to warm chocolate, New Zealand was heaven. And this place had good chocolate, too

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Audun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great coffee, food and staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The coffee here is great, food yummy. outdoor seating with awesome views over the sea make this cafe our favourite in Kaikoura. On A cold day sit in side at one of the seats in the gallery shop at the very front of the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidari14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi there thanks so much for your review and apologies for the tardy response! Fantastic to read that we're your favourite! Thank you! We never get tired of the view either :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Okay if taking an Encounter trip”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

It's okay if you are taking an Encounter trip and want/need to go somewhere close for breakfast. That's what we did. But the service was a bit slow. They billed us incorrectly, noticed it after we left, and came after us on the tour to collect more money. (I had not even looked at the ticket - just handed them my credit card and signed). The lemon crunch muffin was great but the rest of what we had was tolerable - pancakes were a bit too sweet and scrambled eggs were not quite done enough.
Definitely pricey for what you get.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RazorbackWARD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice setting but very expensive. we were desperate for a drink after walking the peninsula track but $4.70 for an L and P is nuts

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissTinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you found us expensive for your purchase. We do endeavour to price fairly and do offer a broad choide of beverages, with a lot under $4, and of course we also provide complimentary water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Encounter also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing