We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning morning on the water”
Review of Kaikoura Kayaks

Kaikoura Kayaks
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating 20 Years of Service - KAIKOURA'S ORIGINAL KAYAK OPERATOR EST.1998 - 100% Success rate for Seal viewing - catch up with the locals of the marine kind in a real Sea Kayak with us today. Curious NZ Fur Seals, Blue Penguins and Dusky Dolphins are only a few paddle strokes away and our local Kiwi Guides would love to introduce you to them around the Kaikoura Peninsula. Stay warm and dry in our enclosed stable sea kayaks with all equipment provided including GORE-TEX dry pants in winter, wetsuit booty's for your feet and dry bags for camera's. Our eco-friendly 1/2 day guided "Seal Kayaking" tours offer a safe, enjoyable, interactive experience, with little effort and a whole lot of good fun. No experience necessary, suitable for all ages and abilities. Family's are most welcome. If you want to tick off a real Kayaking experience from your bucket list with the help of our qualified Guides amongst a multitude of marine life while in New Zealand, come paddling with us! (:
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Professional from start to finish, but relaxed with it. A great morning on the water doing a spot of seal spotting in the South Bay area of Kaikoura. After a full briefing it was time to hit the water and paddle out in the calm sunny waters.
A great first hour just bobbing about watching the fur seals go about their business on the rocks and in the water, then the icing on the cake to get surrounded an almost incessant flock of hundreds of Hutton's Shearwater (huttonsshearwater. org. nz ). We did begin to wonder if they were doing laps there were that many of them!!
All too soon it was time to head back to the shore and the perfectly timed pick up by Matt.
A superb morning!

1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Guide at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your feedback Mike!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea kayaking"
in 37 reviews
"kayak tour"
in 25 reviews
"octopus"
in 36 reviews
"double kayak"
in 12 reviews
"blue penguins"
in 26 reviews
"kayaking experience"
in 13 reviews
"saw seals"
in 33 reviews
"these guys"
in 29 reviews
"great guide"
in 16 reviews
"excellent equipment"
in 6 reviews
"great trip"
in 28 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 31 reviews
"great fun"
in 21 reviews
"sea life"
in 18 reviews
"morning tour"
in 7 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 18 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 6 reviews
Filter

24 - 28 of 686 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic kayak tour of seal colony and wild life, we had a very personal visit with a young inquisit seal in and under and around our kayaks looking for a belly scratch, watch the teeth,george our guide was excellent lots of knowledge about the local wildlife. Excellent equipment and well organised and thanks to George for a fantastic tour.

Thank William_Bartleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Guide at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Awesome Bill! Glad to hear that you enjoyed your tour. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a reveiw too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thanks George (only his first week on the job!!!) For an awesome tour! Thoroughly enjoyed the trip and seeing the seals was awesome! A must do in kaikoura!!

Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the reviwe Laura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a magical sunset tour. Saw plenty of wildlife and had very calm condions. Would definately recommend this tour. Thanks to our guides Connor and George who were awesome.

Thank NeilMarieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Neil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I didn’t get hit in the face by an octopus (tho these are the guys who took that group out) but I did get up close and personal with a seal slapping his octopus dinner on the water (sadly this ap won’t let me upload the video but check out Kaikoura Kayaks website). I was lucky to be the only person on the sunset kayak tonight which meant I had the amazing Renee to myself, and boy does she know her stuff. Interesting, knowledgeable, friendly- she ticked all the boxes and then some. We even had a blue penguin wave surfing. What more could a girl ask for? Fantastic fun, great value and an awesome time. Thanks guys. See you next time

Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Kathryn for the stunning reviwe!
Look Foward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaikoura Kayaks also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kaikoura Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing