We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Awesome! Must do Kaikoura!!! I”
Review of Kaikoura Kayaks

Kaikoura Kayaks
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating 20 Years of Service - KAIKOURA'S ORIGINAL KAYAK OPERATOR EST.1998 - 100% Success rate for Seal viewing - catch up with the locals of the marine kind in a real Sea Kayak with us today. Curious NZ Fur Seals, Blue Penguins and Dusky Dolphins are only a few paddle strokes away and our local Kiwi Guides would love to introduce you to them around the Kaikoura Peninsula. Stay warm and dry in our enclosed stable sea kayaks with all equipment provided including GORE-TEX dry pants in winter, wetsuit booty's for your feet and dry bags for camera's. Our eco-friendly 1/2 day guided "Seal Kayaking" tours offer a safe, enjoyable, interactive experience, with little effort and a whole lot of good fun. No experience necessary, suitable for all ages and abilities. Family's are most welcome. If you want to tick off a real Kayaking experience from your bucket list with the help of our qualified Guides amongst a multitude of marine life while in New Zealand, come paddling with us! (:
Reviewed October 17, 2018 via mobile

I didn’t get hit in the face by an octopus (tho these are the guys who took that group out) but I did get up close and personal with a seal slapping his octopus dinner on the water (sadly this ap won’t let me upload the video but check out Kaikoura Kayaks website). I was lucky to be the only person on the sunset kayak tonight which meant I had the amazing Renee to myself, and boy does she know her stuff. Interesting, knowledgeable, friendly- she ticked all the boxes and then some. We even had a blue penguin wave surfing. What more could a girl ask for? Fantastic fun, great value and an awesome time. Thanks guys. See you next time

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2018

Thanks Kathryn for the stunning reviwe!
Look Foward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea kayaking"
in 45 reviews
"kayak tour"
in 37 reviews
"octopus"
in 43 reviews
"kayaking experience"
in 18 reviews
"double kayak"
in 13 reviews
"blue penguins"
in 31 reviews
"saw seals"
in 39 reviews
"great guide"
in 25 reviews
"these guys"
in 33 reviews
"great trip"
in 35 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 40 reviews
"local wildlife"
in 11 reviews
"morning tour"
in 9 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 20 reviews
"great fun"
in 23 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 23 reviews
"bird life"
in 17 reviews
Filter

96 - 100 of 754 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2018

I had an absolutely amazing sunset kayak trip with Kaikoura Kayaks today! I enjoyed every minute :) Kaikoura is the best place to do that, definitely a MUSTDO in NewZealand. My guide was amazing, many interesting facts to tell and I felt save!

Would come again :)

Cheers

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Madlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thanks Madlin we really appreciate your review. It was the GIRLS on the water. Safe travels:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Thank you George and Connor for a fab morning kayaking !!!! Very professional and fab fun!!! I would highly recommend these guys :)

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank theaberdeenannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you:) Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2018

We hired kayaks from these guys and had a great morning out. They briefed us well about the dangers and area we could cover & how to get the most out of our hire, & although the bay seemed small at first (the Atlantic gales & mists prevented us going too far) the variety of wildlife was fantastic and we were lucky enough to spend much of the morning playing with the local pod of dusky dolphins. Also, although we had not joined in with the guided group, there was still great communication when they spotted wildlife so that we could join in the fun.
Thanks boys - we would definitely recommend you to anyone whether wanting to join in the tour or going it alone.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank janethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KaikouraKayaks, Front Office Manager at Kaikoura Kayaks, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review and thank you for the fantastic recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2018

Connor and Matt were our fantastic and friendly guides. They were highly experienced, and put us all at ease with their passion and incredibly interesting knowledge about the sea, nature, landscape. They can cater for almost anyone of all abilities and ages and very thorough with briefing and guiding accordingly. Do not think anyone could be disappointed by this amazing experience and being so close to nature. Really nice to feel like you out doing something physical and at the same time closest you can ever really get to seals and little blue penguins. Was brillant! Thank you!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Wanderer97870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaikoura Kayaks also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Kaikoura Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing