We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay run by locely woman”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 32 Kaikoura B&B and Inns
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay run by locely woman”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and was maybe one of the highlits of our 3 week holiday in New Zealand. Skipping over the fact we swam with hundreds of dolphins and went whale watching by helicopter, thef reason to stay at Awatea is its great, peaceful location, set in beautiful scenic location, with great animals to play with and run by one of the nicest women you could possibly meet. Please bare in mind that this place is located a good ten minute drive from the main strip but on the basis the main Kaikoura strip itself is a good half hour walk the chances are you would be driving to a restaurant at night anyway. The house is set 100 metres or so down a track from the main road, surrounded by a mountain backdrop, open fields and the sea in the near distance. The place is owned and run by Alison, a lovely woman with all ther info you could need. The rooms are clean and our room, the red room, had a little terrace looking out to the mountains. To one side of the house is a field with Alison's animals in which when we stayed were 2 horses, a huge pig, a shetland pony, 2 alpacas, some chickens, ducks and a goat. They were hilarious and played and argued with each other like a strange disfunctional family. My Mrs could have stayed there a week and played with them alone.

Referring to an earlier review regarding the 'noisy road' I'd like to say we had the room facing that main road and we didnt hear a thing. Ever. Not a single time. Muppet.

So in short, come to Kaikoura, stay with Alison at Awatea, play with the animals and enjoy your stay.

If I can come back to my review at a later date I'll update this to include some photos. It really was a beautiful place to stay. My advice would be to stay here out of the main town and let Alison take care of you. She does a wicked brekky and on top of your own bedroom you have a large living room with a tv and a large collection of films.

Thanks Alison. Cheers. Gary and Tanja

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimay47, Owner at Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I try to make sure all my guests are happy and relaxed during their stay here at Awatea and take pride in the way the rooms are presented and maintained. I know the animals enjoy the extra attention from the guests. They are so spoiled. I hope to see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Nice Place. Pluses are that is very clean, close to Kaikoura (@ 7 km), great views, helpful host and a terrific breakfast. Cons are that there is SH1 road noise, rooms have no bureaus/drawers, pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonPete1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimay47, Owner at Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. We aim to please. I note that you stayed in the Blue Room. That room is the only room without a table and chairs and drawers. The configuration of the room made it difficult to place them. As most of our guests are reasonably short term, chests of drawers are rarely used. Over the years we have found that should guests leave items behind, it is inevitably in the drawers! We will revisit the table idea and see if it would be possible to accommodate one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just outside the city centre, Alison and her family warmly welcomed us in their large home on a beautiful property within walking distance from the beach. There is a generous lounge and dining area for guests only, but Alison was always available for suggestions and advice. We had the Blue Room which is very spacious and has a large bathroom as well as access to the garden and patio. A special thanks to Alison for taking such good care of me when I returned with sea sickness from the dolphins watching - you were so kind!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellentonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimay47, Owner at Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay and to be able to assist you after your trip on the sea. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Awatea for 2 nights on a tikki tour of the South Island. The B and B was just as illustrated on the web and chosen for its beautiful mountain views on one side and sea on the other. Very tranquil. We spent the first evening on the patio enjoying the atmosphere. Alison couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and picked us up from the train. The dogs and animals make the place homely but for non dog lovers there was no trace of them in the immaculately clean bedrooms. We didn't choose a cooked breakfast but it was available if we wanted. The continental breakfast was great - muesli, fruit, yoghurts, toast, lots of teas and coffee. Highly recommend and will go back again for a winter tour. Could do with a fan in the room maybe.

Room Tip: Choose one of the 2 on the Mountain side for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alimay47, Owner at Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was lovely to have you stay here. We do pride ourselves on how we present the house to our guests and we are so pleased you found it a restful place to stay. I look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday trip with my hubby and two dogs for a couple of nights.

Very nice and quiet location. Spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was so good. View was fantastic, you cann see snowed mountain one side and ocean the other.

Alison let our dogs stay in a bedroom with us, which was really good. Otherwise, we would've been worried. Walnut, Alison's dog, loved to play with our dogs. One of my dogs can be a bit upset with terriers but Walnut was very friendly with him.

I can't wait to go back there again. Also, my hubby as he caught a giant eel and big 9 kawais by surfcasting in Kaikoura.



  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chirstchurch
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

A group of us stayed with Alison on a recent long weekend. The weekend was made so much better by being able to bring our dogs. Alison was so welcoming to us and our fur kids, we felt totally at home there. And in addition, the rooms were a great size with french doors to outside, a BBQ and the views! The only downside was the huge breakfasts - very hard to motivate yourself with a full tummy. This will be our first choice of accomodation the next time we are staying in Kaikoura.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely b @ b we had 2 double rooms, the rooms are lovely with a great view, breakfast was 10/10 best breakfast we had so far, we would definitely stay here again, we had electric blankets that was a treat, we were still close to the shops just 5 min drive but the country feeling was great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holaengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
4.6 mi away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
1.7 mi away
Koura Bay Lodge
Koura Bay Lodge
#12 of 36 in Kaikoura
41 reviews
2.0 mi away
Manakau Lodge
Manakau Lodge
#1 of 32 in Kaikoura
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bendamere House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
The Factory
The Factory
#2 of 32 in Kaikoura
153 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wacky Stays
Wacky Stays
#14 of 32 in Kaikoura
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast

Property: Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast
Address: 29 Skevingtons Road, Kaikoura 7371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing